You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BuildTeam EOS Testnet Nodes Online as Mainnet Launch Approaches!

in #buildteam6 years ago

The EOS Mainnet may start producing blocks in as little as 24hours last I've heard. I'll keep my finger on the pulse of the activity as it is too exciting to miss!

Sort:  

Looking Forward to Seeing Whether Block-One Honors Non-Block-One Registrations (Such as Exodus Wallet) :)

@thecleangame Exodus wallets to my knowledge had the EOS tokens registered. So I do not anticipate any problem unless you are talking about something entirely different.

The exodus wallet did not go through blockone for their registration. No check for china/usa location.

Did I miss the notice where Block-One is recognizing the registration workaround Exodus uses? The last tweet I read from Dan Larimer on the subject did not say the workarounds would be honored. Something about just because an option exists, doesn't mean it will be honored, or somesuch statement.

I'm also not talking about the test net. I mean the main net, where block-one should (will?) be enforcing the no China/USA registrations. Without the exodus wallet also having this info, I don't see how Block-One can honor those registrations on the main net.

Not without financial investment issues from the governments of China and the USA.

@thecleangame thanks for explaining this to me. Frankly everything EOS is still a be confusing for me. I am just waiting for the main net to settle then read up on things then. I initial bought EOS through my Exodus wallet I then sold them to buy through the EOS ICO offer. My question is assuming I bought EOS on any of the other exchanges then registered it on MyCrypto or MyEtherWallet at what point in the registration can BlockOne detect I am in or out of these Countries? I know people who registered using VPS.

The point is the exodus wallet does not supply location information.

I fully suspect when the main EOS net is up and running, only tokens registered through the block-one registration will become actual EOS. All other tokens not registered the official way will likely be 'burned' and never be represented on the main network. Any other group setting up a third party network (A separate implementation/fork) does not have to honor the financial restrictions of Block-One, since they did not receive any ICO money.

Anyone using a VPS/VPN for block-one registration is probably safe, as long as their personal information is from outside of the countries of the USA or China.

I completely disagree with this conclusion. There are several tools confirming whether EOS is registered or not. I'd put more faith in the developers and block.one personally. Exodus users have nothing to fear assuming they registered their tokens correctly. If you have any facts / sources to back up the opinions you've presented, I'd be happy to review them and may even be willing to change my mind on the matter. Thanks for your contributions regardless. Take care.

Wish I had the time to go back through Dan's tweets and find the one I remember.

Doesn't matter though, the chips are going to fall the way they fall. Time will inform us all. ;)

As far as I know, the exclusion of US / China registrations was only enforced at the web site level by Block.one. The underlying smart contracts that perform the registrations don't care where you are located. That information is not stored on the blockchain, so once registrations are done there's no way to distinguish a registration that was done using Block.one's tool vs. some third party tool. So I wouldn't worry about this overly much.

As long as your EOS is included in the ERC20 snapshot then you should be good. You can verify your account information using the excellent account checker tool provided by EOS Authority: https://eosauthority.com/

Interesting.

Thank you very much for pointing this out. :)

Looking forward to this ;-)

Thanks for the update @techblogger