OVERLOOKING THE OBVIOUS

in #business6 years ago

If you are like me you are always looking for the next opportunity. Life throws us so may different opportunities from time to time. Timing is crucial as you may be busy with something so mundane you are blinded by what is happening around you. If you have an idea keep at it, one just never knows. It may be one of those light bulb moments that changes your life forever.

Over the last few years I had been sitting on an opportunity of a lifetime, and didn't even know it. I had spoken to my now business partner a few years ago about doing this project. Basically it was expanding his business to the rest of the country, using the many contacts that I had formed over the years. The idea drew a blank and nothing happened. I thought he was uninterested and left it at that.

In the meantime I had established another business which took up most of my time and struggled for lift off. It was a business which was specialized, but ahead of it's time for the country I live in. Perfect for the States or Europe but not for Africa. Maybe in 5 years or so but not for now. I have had inquiries from other countries ,so it has legs and will most likely be a good earner in the years to come.

I was taken by surprise recently as the business opportunity I had raised a few years ago was raised again by my now business partner. The seed I had laid, had taken over two years to become a reality. I thought the opportunity had gone and hadn't followed it up. It just goes to show you that you must never give up on your ideas. The ideas may not be bad but the timings may be wrong. It has only been a few months since we re discussed the proposal and is already working like a dream.

Happily this has all worked out well and things are doing just fine. I have learnt so many things by this and the biggest is to never give up and keep moving forward. Everyone can add value somewhere, and look for what you are good at and run with it. I never pushed the original proposal which I now see as a mistake. We discussed it the other day and he said that he wasn't quite ready, but wanted to do it. He was then unsure if I wanted to still do it. It is weird how things turn out and I am just happy things turn out in the end.

image ource. polly's english.

Sort:  

howdy there @cryptoandcoffee! this is a very encouraging post to those who have let their dreams be put on the back burner forever. May be time to start moving forward. That is so great that it's working well!

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #58! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually 😊


You can upvote, follow, resteem, delegate and join my curation trail to support me, good creators and minnows.

Thank you!