Pursuing a Notary Public Commission

in #business2 years ago

Consider this a journal entry which I'm posting online instead of in private. Not unlike my other posts.

Steps To Getting The Commission

( In North Carolina At Least )

  1. $70, 8 hour class. Scheduled.
  2. Notary handbook, $30. Done.
  3. Take the test.
  4. Compile and Submit the Application, $50.
  5. Buy a Stamp/Seal and a Journal of Notarial Acts.

That's pretty much it. So the real question is what do I need to add in order to provide a polished service from day 1? Or rephrased, What tools to I need to prioritize so that I may push the scales in my favor and not come across as a chump on the first few jobs.

Restrictions.

At the start I am only going to be available on the weekends, and in the evenings. But this may work in my favor. Getting traction with such limited time could be the limitation I need to get creative.

More Complete List of PreRequisites (To Match my Standards)

  1. A high quality digital calling system. Supports mobile and home use, has great voicemail options.
  2. Quality email service with programmable responses. Mostly needed for inquiries of people I haven't met, to assure them that their email went through and an expectation for when to expect a response.
  3. A simple laptop to load with Linux, that has a very long battery life. Chromebook?
  4. A decent wardrobe of understated business casual. Briefcase.
  5. A clipboard with storage space inside, folder(s) for various paperwork.
  6. A Virtual Private Server which is synced with my computers, and loaded with my CRM software.
  7. Go through and correct any obvious bugs with the CRM scripts
  8. Determine what functions I need in a website. Try to set it up to be able to run for 2 years on autopilot. $60 + $45.
  9. Finally, price it all out.

Digital / Copper Call System

Well this is simple, the more advanced options are really only necessary for doing lots of cold calls. Which may have their place, but may only be leaving voicemails in various offices on the weekend. So for now, I think a Residential plan with Vonage is the way to go.

$15 a month.

Email With Programmable Responses

Proton Mail has an autorespond feature which can be combined with a filter to target certain emails, which is all I need. $55 a year. Under $5 a month.

Simple Laptop, With Battery

Looks like Asus and Dell Latitudes are still near the top. Something used will be 200 to 300, luckily this is a secondary concern. This PC is still fine for doing stuff from home. Will revisit this once I have some more cash in hand.

Wardrobe

Now this one is a bit less clear cut. I'll use pages like this one for inspiration, but the reality is a bit more narrow. I can start hitting up thrift stores in the better areas and see if some good clothing pops up. The biggest challenge is heat. Whether I'm walking to/from my car in a neighborhood, or dealing with the temperature in my car that lacks AC. Perhaps investing in some linen items would be a worthwhile investment. Certainly will need to have fresh clothing before each job, and some decent v-neck tshirts. But ideally, I could avoid the button up shirts for now. Stick to classy polos, invest in quality shoes, or visit a shoe store and try some desert boots, and try to find various items at thrift shops. Then a few choice purchases to fill in the gaps. Either way, start with a few outfits, and keep them organized in my closet, set aside from everything else. $250. Never mind, I can't squeeze new Lems shoes into this budget right now. Drop those, swap for thrifting/target shoes. $250

VPS

Could easily just use the one I've already got, just load up the CRM and get everything synced and configured. $5 a month.

Bag & Organizers

Simple briefcase, clipboard, folders. $150.

Website.

Now this topic needs a bit of thought, what do I actually need a website for? My contact information should certainly be cloaked somehow, it always surprises me how active those crawling bots are. Have a virtual / visual business card. Maybe as an svg to further confuse crawlers.

But my purpose isn't only to offer a virtual business card. I want this website to offer a modicum of value to those whom I want to work with. Perhaps a tree of organized references for various topics. Eg, sorted links to advice on writing a will. Might be the simplest way to point people in the right direction without making myself liable as a private person or as a public official.

Could also throw together a quick javascript calculator for estimating the cost of a document. Like a checklist.

And then just stylistically replicate what other notary sites have. An about section (perhaps with a generalized resume), faq, spot for testimonials.

Probably around the same price as stated above, $120.

Totaling It Up

$30 a month in the beginning. Possibly creeping towards $50 a month if things scale up. Or including business supplies.

Initial investments are closer to between $520 and $850.

pretend-sig.png