Have you ever met with a lawyer just for fun?

in #business7 years ago

Let me start off by saying "for fun" is relative!

I met with a lawyer today for a pressing legal issue. My first time ever doing business with a lawyer. After receiving the counsel I made the appointment for, I asked a bunch of questions that had been on my mind about this-and-that. I must say, even at $200 an hour it would have been worth it if I just made an appointment for those questions. I enjoy picking a professional's mind, I've spent countless hours in banks and meeting with loan officers, and accountants, to get a grasp on not only what I want to do, but the mindset to think in. It's good to know the bank wants this document when you ask for that, but to know WHY they want it really allows you to make better decisions in the future. As I learned today meeting with the lawyer taught me a lot about how laws are enforced and how the court system operates. Also, a major thing I learned (I already knew, but really hit home the depth of it) is that something completely illegal may happen, but to prove it in court is often costlier than just living with the wrong.

Also, meeting with the lawyer helped build a relationship, that I think a lot of successful young people haven't realized the importance of yet.

If you have the chance, I would suggest writing down some legal questions you may have about all your goings-on in life, and sit down with a lawyer. You never know what your options are until you explore. And you can't make the right choice unless you know all your options. It was well worth the consultation fee to me.

-setherLawyer.jpg

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sether to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!