How did I quit my job and (somehow) survived?

in #business4 years ago

Hello! As a part of building my brand, I would like to document my journey a bit and share it with the world. I hope somebody will find something valuable here.

I want to tell you, why, how and if it was worth quitting my job.
Btw: I did it before May 2019. It wasn’t a spontaneous decision as I thought about it for some time already.

Why?

  • I want to have my own products, be my boss and give value to the world. I already knew after getting a new job as Android Developer that someday I’ll leave to build my business. Getting into mobile development and learning from more experienced developers was a part of the plan.
  • I value my time so much. Remote work is part of it. Not every company (even in IT) allows it. And having strong allergy and (fortunately) not so strong asthma I had to force myself to be in the company building even on worse days.
  • I was so exhausted. I still remember how my day looked like. So I waked up early, go to work (wasting a lot of time to get there), go to the gym, go back home and program till night. Then I could afford only ~6h of sleep. I had much more infectious because of stress and exhaustion.
  • I needed more time to build my apps. Developing apps is difficult and time-consuming. Additionally, I was getting married in June 2019 and I needed time to help with the preparations. I also wanted to spend more time with my beloved.

Like you see I had enough working for somebody and I wanted to build like I like to say: my mobile apps empire :) I’m also very optimistic, stubborn and impatient.

How?

  • The most important - I needed savings to survive, especially that I almost hadn’t any other revenue back there. The good thing is and I think it was one of the best things that I did in my life, is that I was saving money since I graduated and started to work for others. When I left the day job I had savings for about 6 months of living for me and my wife.
  • I had… let’s say the plan. If I don’t start to earn money in 3 months (yes I know, it’s not a lot of time), I will start to search for part-time jobs or freelance contracts. If over 4 months pass and I fail in getting a part-time job, I would back to a „normal” day job.
  • I tried to not burn the bridges and leave in peace ;) I honestly described what I want to achieve and I suggested that I may want to back one day.
  • I knew what I want to build next, I had already 1 app on the stores (to be honest, two apps, but let’s say that the first app wasn’t business-related, it was more for learning purpose). I was also finishing another app at that time.

Where I’m now? Was it worth?

Yes, it was definitively worth it. My life is still really difficult but I have so much satisfaction. I still work hard every single day, but now I can at least sleep ~8h.

I barely earn enough to afford to live for me and my wife in Poland. Having a business in Poland for small companies is quite expensive.
My apps still don’t make too much revenue. Actually this month is the first month when I earned more than 150$ from my apps. It's 2x more than in January. I'm so excited :D

I had to find freelance work and I did it. It’s so much better than a „normal” job. I was a bit desperate when searching for it because I really wanted something part-time, so the salary isn't ideal. What’s also important, bear in mind that 1h of freelance work is like 1,5h in a normal job. I mean, when I start my timer I have to be 100% focused. When I go to the toilet or I want to eat the timer stops of course. It’s fair but it should have been calculated into my salary. Don't get me wrong, I'm really happy anyway.

From this time I want to slowly start to work less as a freelancer as I still don’t have enough time and energy to achieve everything I want. I even stopped making my apps and I want to keep it like this in the first half of 2020. Instead, I focus on building a brand and I’m creating a programming course in my native (polish) language. My app development will be back later this year for sure!


If you want to check my most popular app which is actually a simple word search game, here are the links:
Android, Google Play Store
iOS App Store

Sort:  

Congratulations @vuko! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!