Would you blindly spend 5000€ to earn 6000€?

in #business8 years ago

It's 1000€ in profit. But... would you do that without hesitating?

I'm following a course on the top-tier strategy businesses.

Now, I'm not going to talk about that type of business. I don't want to talk about business in detail either.

I just got surprised by my reaction to the sentence:

"I will, without even bothering, spend 7000€ to earn 9000€... it's a 2000€ profit".

So, I remade that sentence with 5000 and 6000€. Still: 1000€ profit.

But would you do that?

When I read "spend" my brain took off the light.

I try to make contact with my neurons but they're like "you don't have the money, you don't have the money, you don't have the money" (Yeah, let's imagine the neurons).

Don't get me wrong: he's right.

He's totally right.

You're actually making 1000€ in profit. That's PROFIT. You're not losing anything and, assuming you've done your business correctly, you shouldn't have doubts on that profit.

But, still, my brain seems weird when he listen "spend 5000€".

They're still 5000€

That's what comes to my mind.

And I don't know why. It's attitude, probably. Rules about don't have enough money to risk it all.

It comes from my own-set limits. And they're fine.

I can't spend those money now. Even for 1000€ profit. But I don't know if I would have done done that even if I had had the economic finances to do so.

I would have thought "they're still 5000€".

It's a lot of money. It's investing. It's risky. It's...

What are your thoughts?

I know it sounds strange, but I just want to know your thoughts about the maximum amount of money your brain is ok with investing. 

How much is "Normal" in your point of view? 

Just assume you have infinite money. How much would it feel comfortable to your wallet for a 1000€ profit? Is it unlimited or does your brain tickle a bit listening to high advertising costs? 

Is the ROI (return on investment) the only thing in your mind? 

Remember: you have infinite money. That's not about you right now. It's about a richer version of you with the ability to spend 1mln in ads to earn 1.1mln and have a 100.000 profit.

What would be a normal risk and how much risks would you take? 

I've not fully answered my question personally, but I think I will be tempted to avoid high paying ads. I will do that with unlimited funds, but it will be weird anyway. I won't feel comfortable at first.

What about you? 

Let me know!

See ya!

PS: images are on free courtesy by Pixabay