🐼 Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #11 Roasted peppers with rice and mince and salad boats

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

My favourite vegetable - peppers - in all shapes and sizes and colours
image.png
Headed off to the market on Saturday to find my peppers for the entry this week and very disappointed when I found these peppers!

So I went to the local organic vegetable and found the beautiful specimens on my cover pic.

Took a while to decide what to make because I pretty much cook with peppers every day or have them in a salad. I decided to start with peppers stuffed with rice and mince. For vegetarians this is an amazing dish because you can literally add any vegetables to the rice.

So first I cooked the mince and put it aside, cooked the rice with some turmeric in for health and colour and then fried up some chives, tomatoes, peppers and mixed Greek spices.


Stir in the mince and vegetable mix into the rice for the filling
image.png

Boil the peppers for 3 mins and cut off the tops.
Drain on tissue paper
image.png
Hollow out the peppers, place on baking dish and cook with tops on for 20 minutes in a moderate oven.

image.png

image.png
Then I made my favourite Greek salad with peppers, tomatoes, cucumber, spring onions, onions, calamati olives and feta cheese - and finally my little pepper boats with goats milk cheese and chilli jam - a most amazing taste sensation.
image.png
image.png
My salad was dressed with a floral olive oil that adds a light and slightly perfumed floral taste.

And then with all my scraps I threw into my slow cooker with some lamb offcuts which we had for dinner. The stuffed peppers made an outstanding lunch - so I certainly had my fill of peppers today.

image.png
and finally my proof photograph

image.png
Hope you've been inspired - and I look forward to seeing all the other lovely entries this week. It's been a lovely journey of improving skills and meeting new people. Thank you @progressivechef

smallpanda (19).jpg

I'm looking so forward to filming the recipes and placing them on the VIEWLY platform. We can have a whole cookery channel going on there. This is just the beginning.

Sort:  

Yum @pandamama - love your little boats and the stuffed peppers look amazing. Can't believe the weather over there and we're freezing here in London

Yes, its still warm here - but getting cold at night @edenmichelle - thank you

Yummy - looks so good @pandamama - and you look so happy at the market

I am happy here @lizzvox - can't wait for you to come and visit

Lovely dish... I just love stuffed peppers and yours look so good ...love the goatcheese added too ... and beautiful presentation !

Thank you @globaldoodlegems it's also one of my favourite dishes

All looks delicious @pandamama and the goats cheese with chilli jam sounds scrumptious @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pandamama to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

You certainly got a nice dose of your favorite veggie! Looks like a delicious lunch, plus the pepper boats look cute! I bet the chili jam worked perfectly well with the pepper and cheese!

It was really a super combination @offoodandart - thank you

This looks wonderful @pandamama - I'm coming over

You're welcome anytime @shaewebbmusic - time to come for a visit to Cyprus

Another lovely entry from you my friend! Great food photography btw! It's been long since I last had a nice stuffed bell pepper dish! Thanks for sharing!