Fire Can't burn you

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

I remember late 2010, my brother had a chess competition. My brother by the way is Bomo Kigigha, Nigeria's number one chess player according to The Fédération Internationale des Échecs (FIDE).
Screenshot_20181205-054741.png
FIDE SITE
For all who don't know this is the number one body that rates chess players around the world.

My brother had a competition, he had prepared for this competition for months. One day when my dad was trying to park a bus in our compound so as to find space for the cars he didn't see my elder brother and long story short my brother broke his arm.
images.jpeg

“You don’t become enormously successful without encountering a number of extreamly challenging problems.” Mark Victor Hansen

When it was time for the competition my brother encountered lots of negative feedback from my family who wanted him to stay back and nurse his broken arm. Also to add to the adversities he had no money to go for the competition which was in another state miles away, no one could go with him cause there wasn't added care for anyone else. So could only barely dress up to go out. But he is a champion, and champions don't think like normal people. After fighting with his broken arm, fighting with his family my brother got out there, drove with one had with little fuel in his car and showed the world what he was made of.

The players were from all around West Africa but move "1c4" as he is called was not frightened. He brought down the bulls in the competition and was crowned number one in the competition.

I hope this message inspires someone out there trying to keep it strong. your time is coming just keep preparing.

Luck is when preparation meets upportunity.

Don't ever forget that.


I want to give a big shout out to bomo Kigigha and also @donkeypong for being motivating today's youth.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thank you