I kind of want to vlog?

in #busy6 years ago

Now that I'm on Steemit and DTube and DLive are things, I'm thinking that I kind of want to start a vlog. But I hate my face. And the rest of me. I don't want to put people through having to actually look at me. Nor do I have a good space for a background where I'm living at the moment.

I don't really know what I'd talk about either. My life is pretty boring. I pretty much do two things; work and play games. And mostly I'm working, even when I'm playing games. I guess I'm just gonna start writing stuff and see what ideas I come up with.


Photo credit: WOCinTech

Sharing My Work

Work used to be interesting when I was creating 3d stuff, at least. I used to stream for other people who also did 3D things. Though I mean it's Steemit so maybe I would do 3D again if it meant I'd make money from showing the process.

Part of why I quit doing that is because I got really tired of "customers" expecting everything for free. I would spend a week on a project and barely make $100 off it. That doesn't make sense as a business, though I suppose it's still better than what I'm making now while trying to set up my tech/graphics "school".

Man, now I kind of really feel like doing 3D again LOL. Ugh, never thought I would feel like that so soon. Maybe I should try it.

Sharing My New Work

With the blogging/design stuff, work is pretty much just me writing A LOT. Though I guess making graphics could be something that people would watch live maybe.

I have lots of live stuff planned out but really I'd planned to sell the replays for that though. Not the best thing to put on the blockchain. My free content would work okay though. I absolutely plan to put that up!

This would also be interesting because I'd be able to introduce Steemit to a new audience. This is something I'm already trying to do with the Imperfect Entrepreneur series, which would probably also make a great vlog.

I want to wait till I have a larger audience, though. It seems like old content doesn't really do too well on Steemit. Am I wrong about this?

Getting Personal

But anyway.... my work live stuff is already something I want to do. Vlogging would be more personal.

I've been thinking about vlogging my progress when I start doing the hCG diet again. I think it'll help keep me motivated if people are "watching" and paying attention to my results. It's very difficult and something you really have to have the willpower to do.

My struggle is that now that I'm living with my parents for a bit, it's much harder to stay on track. I think maybe having the vlog will balance that out.

Besides that, I feel like maybe that's a bit too PERSONAL of a share for me. I'm usually an open book but talking about weight loss is difficult. I've succeeded and failed so many times that I'm afraid of telling the entire world about it, especially on the who-would-have-thought-the-internet-would-get-even-more-permanent blockchain no less.

But maybe it's just the kick I need. Plus I feel better about posting here than on YouTube. People seem pretty nice here overall.

Uuuuuugh I have so much anxiety about this, but the more I write, the more I want to do it. I really need to find some way to set up a background that's not a mess though. I think that's the #1 thing holding me back right now.

I had a whole studio set up at my old apartment but now I wish I had one of those folding green screens instead of the studio kit. But the lighting was necessary so I'm glad to have it.

Game Streaming

Okay this one seems like a given. I used to stream on Twitch before it was even Twitch. I'm really comfortable with this, besides the fact that I really suck at gaming most of the time.

The biggest problem I have now is focusing. Unless I'm playing multiplayer or co-op, I don't really focus 100% on the game. I'm usually playing a round or two in between working. It's like Pomodoro method: fun mode.

I suppose the way to combat this is to have some dedicated streaming time and then see where it goes from there.

The Dreaded Editing

Okay, let's be real. I've created a lot of video content but the editing is what's kept me from uploading it all yet. SO MUCH EDITING. I wish I could afford to hire someone else to do it lol. DELEGATION.

If I vlogged, I'd probably do it live just so I could cop out of having to edit it. I need to have a path of least resistance to actually get things done. Good thing people love live video, right?

I guess I'm doing this now?

Anyway, there's an update of my life and thoughts right now. I suppose I actually had several ideas for vlog topics in there. If I do end up doing this, I guess you'll see me doing videos on these. I doubt anyone will ever see this post anyway LOL.

I'm really glad I wrote this because I basically talked myself through all my excuses to NOT do a vlog and how I could actually make them possible. Good job me, I did it.

Merry Christmas everyone! Happy Holidays!

(follow resteem and upvote meeeeeeeeeee hypno hands especially if you think it's a good idea)

Sort:  

But I hate my face. And the rest of me. I don't want to put people through having to actually look at me.

Girl.... nooooo, stop talking about yourself like that. You have to stop limiting yourself like this. Love yourself for all that you are.

I love your ideas, you should go for it.

I think I will 😅 I just needed to talk myself into it. Plus seeing so many others doing it (yourself included) has inspired me.

Thank you for the kind words! I'm always trying to break through my limitations but this one has been the hardest for me, but I'm just about out of new things to break through now LOL. I guess I have to do it. No more excuses!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

From reading your post you have a lot of valuable information that is beneficial to a lot of people (myself included). I know editing is a pain but the more you do it the faster you'll get (i'm talking to myself also cuz its so time consuming). Make it happen Stephanie!