You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Busy January News: Alpha Release updates, 2 weeks before Public Beta release, Donation report, What's next?

in #busy7 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

for now we plan to try a Like/Dislike model (@fabien idea, you're free to PM him to discuss about it ;))

Just a thought, but I don't know about this one, because "Dislike" doesn't always equate to what some consider "Flag" worthy, and it was always something that bugged me with facebook until at least they more recently added a few more possible actions (ie. angry, sad, wow, haha, love). I'd like to see a headshake in there too.

But, for an example:

"50 dead in forest fire" ... Do you really want to "Like" this?
27 Likes - 599 Dislikes - 0 flags

Good point alex. Changing it to "upvote/downvote" shouldn't be that big of a deal if necessary I guess. Edit: Now included in the first comment.

I'm very positive to such a model. Good to hear!

Edit: See below possible issues with "liking" content.

We probably will show both downvote and flag with a different weight, see discussion here: https://steemit.com/flagging/@timcliff/flagging#@jamesc/re-timcliff-flagging-20170117t143039503z

Awesome to hear!

The issue with "flags" right now is that they are considered offensive and at the same time even Dan want's to use them to subjectively disagree with and lower rewards. To me and users I've talked to that's problematic for onboarding and clearity in general, because users from other platforms already use "real" flags in a whole other way.

That's why I'm positive to the recent changes of guidelines for "flagging" here on Steemit, but would also want to see the flag icon be replaced by a downvote button and weigthing changed as soon as possible.

(I commented on the post you linked as well, but should it be of interest, you can find my better comments on the issue under the other 3 latest resteemed posts in my blog as well)

/Thomas