Farm Update From Garden #1: What Light Deprivation Greenhouses Look Like

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

20180720_065526.jpg

It has been quite a while since I wrote a farm update, but I have racked up quite a few photos, so I decided it was time to share. Much has been accomplished since my last update, including completely installing all three of the light deprivation greenhouses, arms, wiggle wire, and motors for the the greenhouse plastic.

alt3.jpg

Some of you were wondering why two of our greenhouses were incomplete earlier in the season, so today I will show you what our completed project looks like. To keep our garden legal, we staggered the growing cycle of each greenhouse at the beginning of the season, so only a certain number of plants would be in flower at once. Only through light deprivation is this possible, otherwise all the plants would be in flower at the same time. Here are some photos of the light dep covers with the plants, so you can see what I am referencing.

20180720_121733(1).jpg

alt2.jpg

alt1.jpg

20180727_175035.jpg

20180727_175430.jpg

Night Night... in the day!!

20180727_175439.jpg

The progress of the plants is as spectacular as ever, and we have only had minimal issues with russet mites so far. Many thanks to @jonyoudyer and @canna-curate for helping my buddies and I figure out the heat stress issue our plants were having. After a fair amount of additional shade and water during heat waves, all the heat stressed leaves on our plants have perked back to normal, with their beautiful blue/green sheen.

20180727_174953.jpg

20180727_174931.jpg

20180720_130739.jpg

In order to totally complete our light dep greenhouses, we had to do a little more than just install the tops with their motors and arms. We also had to install fan systems at each end of each greenhouse, to ensure proper air flow through the greenhouses when they are closed towards the end of the day. The two fans on one end blow air through the greenhouses, and the other two on the far sides pull the air out. This will prevent mold and rot from accumulating due to stagnant air, heat, and moisture.

Our crucial fan set up from last season on greenhouse #1, still there today

20180727_175308.jpg

The more cost effective fan set up we used on our other 2 light deps this season x2/side

20180727_175259.jpg

We even have to mound the dirt against the entrances, so no light can sneak in through the crack at the bottom of the doors. In order for the plants to go into sleep mode, they require absolute darkness, with no ambient or direct light on them for several hours. The plastic is only lifted when night has fallen, and it is completely dark outside.

20180727_175221.jpg

This update represents the last week of July 2018, and a second update will follow this one covering July 27th - Aug. 8th, and will include some fun photos we took at my buddies farm as well. I will also have an update for Farm #2 as soon as I can. Thank you for hanging in here with me everyone, I am playing catch up at this point. I have some awesome organic cotton shirts @hempress and I have been dying with plants, that has kept us very busy. If everything goes to plan, we will have updates about that within the week as well.

Blessings everyone & stay tuned - into the right frequencies

@themonkeyzuelans_6.png

Do not forget that my debut concious Hip-Hop album, The Hex Wrecker is completely free for download on Bandcamp and Soundcloud (click the links to go to my music on those platforms), or CLICK HERE for download instructions.

eos_seperator1.gif

ELAemcee_logo_anigif2_50.gif

left.gif@elamental.gif

dynamicsteemians_banner.gif

SSG_banner.png

@edxserverus_6.png

canna-curate-banner1.jpg

k4.jpg

PLEASE CLICK HERE to view my blog with all my recent articles on cannabis, silver, Steemit, contests, cryptos, underground conscious Hip-Hop, healthy living, festivals, my collections, and MY STEEMIT STORIES! & have a BLESSED DAY!!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ELAmental from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you so much for posting! It's a real pleasure to watch a large operation like this.

In our garden tunnel (35m) we would like to have some fans as well but margins on bio veggies are not allowing us to do so.

As long as both ends and sides are open you should be fine with just wind.

As long as both ends
Are sides are open you should
Be fine with just wind.

                 - elamental


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Whoa.. now THAT"S a garden!! Very nice... So wait--when the plants are "sleeping" (i.e., dark time) it is not "completely dark?" It looks like there is a big "gap" in the structure, allowing light to enter; or am I missing something.. (I wasn't sure if that was just unfinished and you blocked it off later). Where it says "night night, in the day!!". Don't the plants need total darkness??

Also, you mentioned staggering your grows to "keep it legal." I live in the Pacific NW of the US, where growing a certain amount (with a permit) is allowed. For me, it's "six plants." Yet I have never been able to get a straight answer as to what exactly consitutues "a plant." You seem to imply that, as long as a plant is not flowering, it is not considered part of the allotted bacth; in other words, let's say you're permitted 10 plants. You have ten in flowering, yet also 10 let's say, in seedling stage. You're saying that is legally permissible for you? (of course I know your rules don't neccessarily apply to my situation just curious..). I think I read somewhere that in Michigan, for example, it seems the law is as you state: Only flowering plants count as "plants."

All the plants count as plants, but you are allowed way less flowering plants than ones in veg. On the medical side (our side) we are able to grow more by having more patient's cards on our growsite. I took that picture right before the plastic finished closing all the way when the light was fading. They are in complete darkness when the greenhouse closes completely. Thank you for your questions, I hope I have provided the answers you are seeking.