Growing Cannabis as a Rookie (Advice Wanted)

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

So,

I was blessed to get some NY Diesel x Shark Attack seeds. I've been craving to grow some plants as it has been a goal for me to achieve. I live in an area of California where the purchase and sale of cannabis for recreational purpose is illegal, however one is allowed to grow and maintain up to six plants.

FE98FAED-B367-468A-931E-B308311DBA9D.jpeg

I currently don't have a place to do this: so my Brother offered (No, I didn't have to pull his arm). So, we planted all the seeds I received without trying to germinate them first (I know, rookies as fuck).

Anyhow, he went ahead and did everything with no background or knowledge in cannabis growing. He is so cocky as fuck and claims his work experience is enough. I surely don't think so. He did some ag work and worked at a nursery for a short time.

Anyhow, a few seeds actually sprouted and here is the evidence.

72668E1B-A1CE-4868-96DB-F6655F141C96.jpeg

I feel like he is always watering though and that has caused so much drama between us. It's really astonishing how he just won't take advice from anyone or any source online. It is really driving me nuts right now.

I've told him that I will adopt a plant (out of the six) and he won't even let me do that. It is driving me up the roof since I know the consequences of over-watering as I have read extensively online on the care of plants.

6280FA4F-0E69-4B04-9FCC-7B26DFB799FC.jpeg

He won't take any advice at all. It really is sickening.

Anyhow, he waters non-stop. He doesn't know when to quit. The pots are so fucking heavy that it drives me nuts. Granted, I live in a swap hot ass part of California, but still I'm worried.

What do you think? These baby plants are about 15 days is what I estimate. What should I do? Any advice?

By: @stonercoin
E-mail: [email protected]
Twitter: @stonercoin

Please upvote & comment if you liked

Sort:  

you can download the ILoveGrowingMarijuana.com GROW BIBLE from the link in any one of my posts for free. that might help you guys out throughout the process

Thank you, I will definitely try and see what I can do to make these babies grow.

Thank you, I will definitely try and see what I can do to make these babies grow.

We can't help you with the struggles with your brother.
But we can see overwatered plants with a picture or two!

And yeah, those are overwatered.

No more water until either they begin to wilt, or the surface of the soil is dry. The good news is, they might be okay if you stop watering NOW.

Also, they need a bit more light (more hours of the day, and more intensity). They would also benefit from some airflow (a gentle fan for a few hours per day).

Make another post and ask for more help in a few days, with updated photos!

Thank you. Yes, he moves the small pots around the day to try and get the most sun to them. He supposedly didn't water today and I saw them and the soil still appeared wet. I think he is trying to listen. Besides, I showed him the comments. He tried growing before with other seeds and they kind of never did any growing after 2 weeks or so. Is like they just stopped growing. Anyhow, it'll be like 100 degrees tomorrow so they might need some water then. Oh, one of the pots (the one with 2 baby plants- the last picture) one of them had no leaves today and they other looked beat up. My Brother has a cat so I think he nibbled on it or something. I don't know how it ended up looking like that. I think it was the cat. I should've taken a picture on it. Thanks for the advice, I will keep you guys updated.

Heheh. Well, no more cat nibbles! That's kind of important.
When he grew before and they died after 2 weeks, that sounds like "rotting off". It's a common problem with plant seedlings when the soil is too wet (never dries out between waterings). The plant will rot (turn brown and die) right at the soil surface level. There's no cure once it happens, you just have to prevent it, by letting your soil surface dry out (not just less wet, but actually dry) between waterings. :)
Happy growin!

Thanks he is so naive. Today, I went over and checked and he had been watering them. He doesn't listen. If they die- it's a shame, but when in talk too him it's like talking to a wall. Done people just don't learn. Thanks for the advice.

Sweet mission accomplished! And if your brother reads and applies the info he will be a great gardener in no time. And a few good growers have ruled.

But great trouble shooting guys!

At the vet with sick doggo. So will check in soon!

But yeah master gardeners are always listening and seeking proof!

And here we can get paid to do that.

Now if it's really dry instead of watering the roots so often you can set misters up to wet the air a little. And covers to help trap the moisture in the air.

You need to order your bro a grow book.
He's fucking up with the constant watering.

It’s really hard to find a good partner ship in growing, especially with a personal grow.

Yes, people get all emotional and attached to the plants. They think they know best with a closed mind and no real experience. Only time will tell how and if these survive.

Love! And hang on I'm gonna share this.

@powpow420 and @cowboyblazerfan

And how many other grower friends here want to throw down?

Congratulations on the seedlings! I'll see what I can do to help. And grow that sacred plant and heal the sick!

And your right about the watering! Learn and keep am open mind. I know master gardeners that grow dank. They are humble and listen and look-up information for themselves and communication!

But yeah can't build something nice with a person with ego.

Sorry and your seeing the brick wall ahead and screaming for help.

I'd grow somehow another way for sure!

Thank you, yeah I think he is now trying to be a little more open-minded. I shared these comments with him and it looks like he is listening: at least for now.

Yep you need to stop watering. The rule of thumb is water, let them dry totally although you don't wanna kill them by overdrying and water again. Young seedlings need small amounts of water when watering, but frequent spraying to keep RH up.

Yes, I fully agree. I went today and the soil still looked wet and supposedly he didn't water today. Tomorrow, it'll be like 100 degrees here (wish, I was joking) but they might need some water.

Everything is said. Stop watering, more light, more air... And next time leave brother outside haha

I understand. He is trying to listen more now then before I think. We will see. The first time I made a comment about over-watering he went crazy (not lying) about a week and a half ago. I showed him these comments and I think he is changing his ways. We will see. Yes, if I could grow and if i had my own place I would've not included his naive ass.

Go to growweedeasy.com they got all the info you need.

Thank you. I'm on it.

I would try to avoid planting more than one i the same container. When you try to split them into their individual containers it will be difficult since the roots will be tangled and when you mess with the roots on it can really mess up the plant.

Thanks. That is a great tip. I will pass that along.