Live From Silverstone!

in #car6 years ago (edited)

I've just got back from my first ever drive on a fully-fledged and prestigious racetrack.

Silverstone circuit, home of the British Formula 1 race and I'm SO EXCITED!

I signed on and had the driver's briefing and went back to the Ginetta garage in time to find a helmet (should have brought my own).

Gloves and better shoes for driving on and away we went!

I'm not tall enough to reach the pedals completely - not even with the seat all the way forward and they don't have any packing to push me further forwards. "I'll be fine," says I! "You sure?" "Yeah!" Big grin!

I took out the Ginetta with a race driver by my side to give me hints, tips and tell me how to get around the track safely.

I didn't spin the car on the first lap...

I need to brake harder and remember stuff... There's lots of stuff to remember...

The verdict on my first lap?

Good... not bad at all for the first go ever!

I had a chat with Ian and he asked how I thought I'd done...

"Well, we didn't die!" I said with a huge grin.

"Big grin, that's what we like to see," Ian said.

I think my problem is I'm over-thinking it and the safety aspect is well-ingrained so I have a couple more laps to pound that out of me!

Lunch now and then two more sessions before home.

Oh yeah...

I'm on the same track as this kind of thing...

Picture by Annabelle of @planetauto

Sort:  

interested post @michelle.gent..

I'm a little bit jealous, would like to test such a race track too ;-)

I think I've got the bug now...

Nice post

lucky you

This is very new to me. I never knew about this track. Really you have delivered a very good experience and knowledge. Very helpful. Thank you very much @michelle.gent

Thank you, I'm pleased you've got something from my post.

Looking forward to hearing how the rest of day goes. So far, so good!

I'll get to that tomorrow... I was tired yesterday and today I've had physio and felt a bit battered...

No problem. Just let the body heal.

Amazing post and narrative. Thank you for sharing!

Wow... amazing trip madam

Yes it was! Thank you :)

That must've been an amazing experience. And you lived to tell the story. Was it expensive to do a few laps?

LOL No one died! It was a good day!

I got around 15 laps or there abouts and it cost £360 (GBP)

There are videos to come too, so it's a great day for not an astronomical amount of money.

Thats definitely a reasonable price

really r u producer?? i saw your banner thats y m asking

wow what a car like dream car

Nice post I like

That sounds like so much fun! What kind of car do they put you in? Is there a video?

I've long wanted to try rallysport racing, but man, it looks like an expensive sport to get into. (You need a rally car, a truck and trailer, a mechanic, a navigator...) So for now I'll just have to content myself with the video games.

I drove a couple of Ginetta G40s little sportscars that are also road-legal. Enormous fun!

The company offers a way in to start race driving (track) and they provide all the support you'd need. All you have to do is get the car to the track in time for the race.

I'll be posting and sharing some of the videos - keep an eye out for @redheadroadtrip ;)

Yay! Looking forward to it!

I'd like to see you racing in a Steemit powered car 😉

So would I!

As long as it's me driving, of course ;)