Women Who Influenced My Career

in #career8 years ago

Sometimes a stupid question arises in the workplace – would you work for a woman boss? While this question probably comes up less, if at all in our modern workplace, if it does, the answer from my experience would be a resounding YES !

Recently, while reading the contents of a website developed by Mathematics professor, Dr. Richard Delaware at the University of Missouri at Kansas City (UMKC), my Alma Mata, I was struck by an interesting insight. Dr. Delaware’s website on the history of the Mathematics Department at the University triggered some thoughts about the important professional women who have heavily influenced my professional career and to whom I am deeply indebted.

I started reflecting on the women who have had a major influence on my life and especially my professional career. Each of them have taken a young, feisty, pup, and turned him (me) into a fully functioning, contributing professional. I thank each of these brilliant women for sharing their wisdom, and their brilliance, with this wet-behind-the-ears straggler. I was very fortunate indeed to have known them.

It began with Dr. Maria Castellani, my college mathematics teacher, who gave me a mantra to live by and to guide my entire professional career. Dr. Castellani often told our small band of Mathematics majors "Mathematics is a way of thinking." This idea has provided the confidence and the platform for a forty-year career that spanned several key positions in major companies and a twenty-year consulting career that allowed me to influence the business directions of several major computer industry participants.

After an extended struggle with unemployment, my first professional job as a Mathematical Analyst was working for a woman at Douglas Aircraft Company. She was very patient with me and went out of her way to supplement my limited mathematical skills. She taught me an awful lot about working in a professional environment and being a professional.

The Apollo Program Put This Astronaut Here

A few years later when I became a computer programmer, working on the country’s most prestigious and high visibility project, I worked for a woman. She headed a task force developing a software system to aid in mapping the moon's surface to prepare for the 1969 Apollo moon mission. Evelyn, the task force leader, set and broke records for on-time project delivery and the quality of the resulting product.

An Outstanding Lady Boss

In the latter part of my career when I became an independent consultant at an international computer industry market research company, my boss was Nancy Scull. She won many significant consulting projects from major companies such as AT&T, IBM, HP, Digital Equipment Corp., Toshiba, etc. Most of these project wins happened, because Nancy embodied integrity and honesty. The clients knew they could count on Nancy and any team she headed to deliver the goods – the answers to complex business and marketing questions.

Each of these, highly professional, knowledgeable, successful women has had a major impact on my professional career and my life. I give kudos to them and the highest respect for the ground on which they walked so nobly and majestically.
Remember, if this stupid question should ever arise during your career journey, consider yourself damned lucky to work with and for a woman boss. I bet you too will learn a great deal as I did.