Why do Americans love impractical cars?

in #cars7 years ago (edited)

We've all seen the humongous truck or muscle car on the road with 300 more horsepower than it needs. Don't get me wrong, if I was a millionaire, there would most likely be a raised up Denali SUV in my garage, along with many other toys. But for the average person, a van or wagon are much more practical.

Hatchbacks are more practical than sedans as they utilize the space above the trunk for cargo and passenger area.

Cargo vans can usually carry just as a comparable truck. The vast majority of people who really do need a truck for the ruggedness are people who work in the construction industry. For the rest, it is just a status/manliness symbol.

SUVs are the most impractical in my opinion. They are usually much bigger in size than what they are capable of doing (Amount of passengers/cargo it can carry or tow). Most do not have any real off road capabilities. Plus minivans can usually transport seven or more people.

Please let me know in the comments your opinions on why more practical vehicles like vans and wagons are not more popular. Thank you for re-steeming, commenting, and up-voting!

Sort:  

People want feel good, in this slave based economy where you struggle to get where you are, a car is one thing you can get that says to the world I am successful. You waste a lot of hard earn slave dollars on it so you get the best you can to make yourself feel as good as you can.

For some people when they can drive a boxy monstrosity it may make them think they are better than someone driving a little hatchback someone who doesnt have the same status as them.

You answered your own question it is just a status symbol.

Its a "hey look at me" mentality. I'm one to speak though because hot rods are my life, they are all consuming.

Hello Ed The Canadian, Thank you for taking the time to reply. I have a BMW 5-series and I spend a lot of time on it as well. I just wonder why wagons aren't more popular in the US. BMW makes some great wagons.

Wagons are popular with enthusiasts, just a small fraction of all car owners though.
I just did some repairs to a 525i wagon. BMW's make me cringe(as far as having to repair them goes).

I have never owned a van, or wagon, because they just don't appeal to me. A truck just makes more sense, I can go off roading, carry my ATV, cooler full of beer, and when the wife kicks me out I have a bed to sleep it.