What was your first car?

in #cars6 years ago (edited)

Everyone remembers with nostalgia their first car. Most of the time fondly, and sometimes not, but always with nostalgic overtones - if for no other reason than it was your first car, ever. There will never be this kind of first again.

You may get your first dream car.

You may get your first new, off-the-lot car.

You may get your first truck.

You may get your first kid-friendly car.

But your first car always holds a special place in your memory.

Recently, I was having this discussion with a friend and I had to google pictures to show him my first car. A 1959 VW Karman Ghia. He had never heard of it.

I will never forget when my grandpa presented to me. It feels like yesterday. It was 16 years old and needed a lot of work, but it was mine. My very own. And it cost him a mere $350!

I was so grateful, and drove it for almost 2 years before getting my at-that-time dream car, a Camero.

What was your first car?

image
A restored Volkwagon Karman Ghia. (Not my actual first car. Mine didn’t look this nice.)

Please do share your first car with us. Be careful, it will take you on a jog down memory lane.

Cheers,

Blair

P. S. I also went on my first date in my first car. But that’s for another post. Maybe.

P.S.S. Is anyone getting a new car for Christmas?

Sort:  

What an awesome first car, a classic. My first car was not that good just an old rust bucket.

Well, mine was not as good looking as the picture in my post. It has been restored. However, I really enjoyed the car. Thanks for sharing

My first car was a 1966 Chrysler Newport. I bought it when I was 12 years old for $500 from an woman who had left it in the garage for decades. Over the next four years, my father and I fixed up the neglected engine, replacing all the rubber, the alternator, and the carburetor, and got it ready for the road. We even had to drop the gas tank because the gasoline had been left in it got so long it had turned to sludge.

It was a great car. Pretty much indestructible, and I made so many great memories with my dad taking that car apart and rebuilding it.

I do love your Karman Ghia, however!!

That is fantastic! Great memories. I kept my second car (Camero) for 7 years. Those were the days!