Downshift AUS #8: The S13 Silvia That is Straight Up "Riding in the 90's"! - by @jakeyboy

in #cars6 years ago (edited)

I've seen this Silvia at quite a few meets in the brisbane area, and I can never resist shooting it! I will walk by it and see it at a slightly different angle, then the next thing I know I'm taking more photos! I just love it!

My name is Jakob McDonald and you can check out my blog here!

Nothing represents the iconic japanese 80's-90's style more than a two-tone S13 coupe! The original off-white and grey-gold colours work perfectly together and looks extremely well kept! Although it looks like its just come out of a Japanese dealership, it does have a couple of cosmetic changes that just make it pop!

Firstly, the front bumper is aftermarket. It pokes out less at the front and hangs a bit lower which in turn, makes the car look lower! The wheels are aftermarket too and they, in my opinion, compliment the secondary colour of the car the most. Matching the colour of the wheels is difficult to pull off, but when its done right it looks amazing! they are also small and retro which should be the only kind wheels on any old Japanese car!

In Japan, you aren't allowed to tint the front windows of the car beyond factory, which is why you see a lot of imports with only the rear windows tinted. Personally, I think it looks cool and is a great way to further replicate that Japanese look. And this car has done exactly that! Also, I am a huge fan of roof wings and I think they look great on almost every car. This one is no different!

While it looks stock, the rear bumper is also aftermarket. The change is quite small, but it adds an extra amount of character! The difference is on the corners where there is a slight 'ripple'. It also makes those twin tips look pretty good too!

What do you think of the stock style? Do you like it the two-tone or prefer the one colour? I definitely like it, although I think the Gentleman bodykit looks too good on the coupes to resist! Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

These photos were taken by me, Jakob McDonald, on the 26/02/2017 and 09/04/2017 at a car meet held by Downshift Australia.


If you enjoyed this post be sure to check out my blog for more automotive content @jakeyboy

This post was written by JDM Writers Guild. If you would like to be part of the guild and earn for written content please be in touch with @nelkeljdm on discord


FOLLOW ME HERE!

Discord Link


If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

One of the best cars to make driffting!

Too right! one of the best looking too!