Japanese Car meets: My Experience at the Daikoku Futo Parking Area! Part 1 - By @Jakeyboy

in #cars6 years ago

Anyone into JDM car culture should know what Daikoku Futo is, but for those that don't, It's probably the biggest meeting point for car enthusiasts of all types to hang out at in Japan. On a normal day you'll find anything from JDM legends to Euros and American muscle! If you've ever played a Japanese car racing arcade game, You would recognise Daikoku Futo as a map option!

My name is Jakob McDonald and you can check out my blog here!

So essentially, Daikoku Futo Parking Area is a rest stop on a manmade island used to store exports in the bay of Yokohama. Overtop runs a long highway and drivers are able to pull in to the parking area to get some food and rest. However, back in the 90s where street racing in Japan was at it's prime, it became a staging area for drivers to race their cars along the highway connecting Yokohama to Tokyo. These days people will mainly go there to hang out, show off their cars and meet with other enthusiasts as the Japanese Police began to crack down on street racing.

Unfortunately, my trip there was very spontaneous and was only on a quiet night. So the photo quality is not great! The stories I have to tell though of my experience was truly amazing and was definitely the highlight of my trip! I basically hopped into a taxi and literally pointed to it on a map. He dropped me off on the island and left me to navigate the maze of export lots!

The First Characters I came across were prowling the streets nearby the parking lot in an orange 4 door R32. I met them while I was still looking for the right spot and they were kind enough to give me directions! They also treated me with a bit of street drifting around an intersection which was a great start! Their plates are covered for obvious reasons!

When I first got there I was a bit early, as thre were only a couple of cars. But shortly after they started rolling in one at a time! Eventually, these two awesome looking Chaser's came rolling in and parked up next to eachother.

These gems belonged to a wonderful Japanese couple (His and Hers!) who were very friendly! They didn't speak much English and I couldn't speak much Japanese, So we communicated mostly with our hands, with sounds and with google translate for the difficult ones! They explained that they are both single turbo 2JZs and they always drive them together! They were very proud of their cars and were happy to show them off!

Stay tuned for Part 2 of my Daikoku Futo experience as well as some advice as to how to get there and how to time it so you get there on a packed day!

I apologise again for the quality of the photos, like I said it was quite spontaneous and I didn't have the right equipment! I hope you enjoy my story as much as I enjoy looking back on it! Let me know in the comments about your epxperiences or if you have any questions! Thanks for reading!

BONUS PHOTOS!

These photos were taken by me, Jakob McDonald, on the 24/11/2016 at Daikoku Futo Parking Area.


If you enjoyed this post be sure to check out my blog for more automotive content @jakeyboy

This post was written by JDM Writers Guild. If you would like to be part of the guild and earn for written content please be in touch with @nelkeljdm on discord


FOLLOW ME HERE!

Discord Link


If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

Want to promote your posts

  • First Follow us then

  • Send 0.1 to @steemus-bot with your post url in the memo and recieve votes from 20-70 accounts.

  • Send 0.1 Steem to @steemus-bot with your post url in the memo and recieve a resteem.

  • Get minimum 3x Upvote

  • overpay will count as donation

If you would like to delegate to the @steemus-bot you can do so by clicking on the following links:
10SP50SP 100SP500Sp

You Can also Delegate Us Here as you wish.