Spending a week with A new Corvette Z06, Super Car performance for half the Cost?

in #cars6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0094.JPG

When I was younger I used to hate corvettes. I would always see people driving them and in my mind, it just wasn't an appealing car, yes every now and again there would be a murdered out Z06 that looked decent, but I just felt that it was a car that was stuck in limbo between a low end and a high-end sports car. That all Changed when the Corvette C7 was announced in 2013..
2014 stingray.jpg

It took a little time to grow on me, given my previous opinion on the car. After a few months, I was hooked. the lines, the aggressive front end, and the harsh lines on the tail end started to look better and better every time that I saw one.
I was able to Drive a few of these stingray C7s, Each time I drove one I had a blast, no longer were the days of muscle cars that couldn't handle their power, the C7 packing its 450+ Horsepower driven by its massive 6.2L v8 put the power down, and it could handle it! 0-60 in a respectable 3.7 seconds made the car something amazing to drive on a nice open road. The problem then was that this car could handle its power so well, there was only one thing that could be done.... Enter the Corvette Z06.
z06.jpg

Wide body, Aerodynamics, Carbon ceramic brakes, an adjustable wing, oh yeah.. and that Supercharger added on top. the Corvette C7 Z06 was now pushing 650 horsepower and 650 Lb feet of torque. 0-60 in a blistering 2.7 seconds, and a top speed of 200 mphs, this Corvette was now something to be talked about by car enthusiasts around the world. After watching this car out perform supercars 3x its price tag, I had to get into one.

I reached to a local friend of mine and using Turo I was able to rent a 2017 Corvette Z06 for the wee​k, so that I​ could spend some time with it, find its pros and its cons, and give an overall experience​​e with the car.
a few days later I had myself a black and Red corvette Z06. Where to begin.. the car was everything ​that I​ had imagined and then some. Its honestly hard to discribe the feelings you get driving the car without driving it yourself, but I​ will do my best.

Comfort:
The car is as Comfortable as a 650 horsepower sports car can be. Even with magnetic ride suspension, the car is still a decently rough ride, putting the car in tour mode makes it a bit better, but you can only make the suspension so giving with the power that the car must handle in sport mode. The seats fit you snug and the interior is very driver oriented. one thing I​ really love is the trunk space, there is TONS of room for luggage or just daily items. Although when the quick detaching​ roof is placed in the trunk, this does take up most of the space.

Driveability:
You would think that in a car with this much horsepower and this large of an engine, mpg is out the window. that's​ where you are wrong. Throw the Z06 into eco mode, and now you are averaging anywhere from 20-27mpg. how is this possible​ you ask? Well, Chevy has implemented a genius tech in which the engine will shut down half of its cylinders​ when it can to boost mpg on the highway. With this, it makes daily driving a breeze, although 99% of the time you will want to be in sport mode, the possibility of good mpg is still there.

POWER:
unlimited, that's​ the only word I can use to describe the power under the hood of this car. doesn't​ matter if you are going 40 or 90 mph, if you put your foot down the car will continue to pull you all the way to​ jail. on a closed courseII was able to get the car to 165 with no issues at all, I felt completely​ confident in its steering at that speed. I can tell how some people would be hesitant​ to purchase this car because part of me does believe​ that it is too much power for the streets. Handling​ is amazing, with 335 on the rear and 285s in the front, this car STICKS. one of my favorite features on the car was the lateral G meter on the heads up display, when taking corners it showed how many Gs the car was pulling, as well as where the limit should be for the turns, this made it much easier to have confidence​ hitting corners quickly​ in the car.

OVERALL: The car was a blast to drive I have driven many cars up to 3x the price of this, but for half the cost I think that it is Safe to say the Corvette Z06 is easily the​ best bang for your buck under 100k. Below are some pictures from my time with the car, let me know what you guys think. should the z06 be considered a super car?IMG_0094.JPG

IMG_8871.JPG

IMG_9265 2.JPG!

IMG_5899.PNG

IMG_5978.JPG