Bandit- The Cat Who Stole Our Hearts

in #cat7 years ago (edited)

Bandit showed up at our house sometime in March 2016. There was still snow on the ground. The seasons were in transition. The days were getting longer and warmer, but the nights were still below freezing. The ice on the river behind the house was just starting to break up. The cat was lanky. I figured him to be a juvenile. Most likely from a late summer litter. During the day he'd wander, but most evenings he returned, taking up residence in the old wicker chair outside the back door.

We already had six cats who weren't particularly impressed by his presence, and the last thing we needed was another cat, but the day finally came when I couldn't resist the urge any longer. That's day I set out that first bowl of food. Summer came and went and each night he would dance for a bowl of kibble and a dish of half and half.

With the onset of fall we became concerned about how to provide for him through the upcoming long (and often brutal) winter. I switched his kibble to a full can of wet and gave him unlimited heavy cream in an attempt to fatten him up. We sourced some straw bales and built a house around his chair on the back porch. I added old pillows and fluffy warm blankets for comfort and warmth. He liked his new house and began sleeping in it on the very first night.

As the cold set in I started coaxing Bandit to come just inside the door to enjoy his meal in the warmth of the house. He was pretty leery of the new surroundings, so I'd stand by the door and open it for him on demand. If he ever felt trapped, unable to get outside, his mood quickly turned as panic set in. As soon as the door was opened he would rush out then turn around an come back in. His confidence grew as he came to trust someone would always open the door and he was free to come and go as he pleased. It didn't take long for Bandit to enjoy longer and longer stays indoors. Occasionally he'd even take a short nap after his meal.

After our first blizzard in early December Bandit disappeared. I attribute that to him being afraid of the snow blower. The snow fall was heavy and the temperatures were sub zero. Another blizzard arrived within days and still no Bandit. By this time I was afraid he had become trapped under a building by deep snow or had succumbed to the brutal sub zero temps. My friend reassured me that wild cats are quite resilient and that he was just hunkered down somewhere waiting for a break in the weather.

Each day after work I'd check the straw house hoping to find him snuggled in the blankets. When I didn't find him I'd turn the porch light on hoping for his return. Again each morning I'd check the straw house then turn the porch light off. This went on for almost three weeks. Another blizzard was bearing down on us. Anxiety over that missing cat was wearing on me. Throughout that day I couldn't help but think he was probably gone from our lives for good. He had never stayed away that long before. That evening I went through my routine of checking the straw house and turning on the porch light. The next morning was Saturday. I checked the house and turned off the light. Again, no Bandit. I went about getting ready for the day. At some point a while later I walked through the living room and happened to look out the window. There he was, perched on top of his straw house, looking as though he had only been gone for the day. I immediately burst into tears and rushed to the door. I so badly wanted to pick him up and cuddle him, but he was still a Tom Cat so I settled for his generous leg rubs. There was no doubt he was happy to see me and happy to be home. I was relieved beyond measure. My heart was full.

That reunion was a turning point in our lives. In a matter of days Bandit was moved into the house full time, shortly followed by a trip to the vet for a wellness check, vaccinations and neutering. The vet thinks he's eight or nine years old. That he was so small when he first arrived was probably due to starvation from surviving the previous winter. Once his raging Tom Cat hormones were in check Bandit settled in to the life of a pampered feline replete with toys, treats cozy places to nap.

IMG_0033.JPG

Sometimes, when it's least expected, we are presented with life changing moments. That's what happened when a cat named Bandit showed up and stole our hearts.

Sort:  

Congratulations @somegirlupnorth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Yes we have 3 cats now a Bengal female kitten turned up and as very leery for 2 months then ruled the roost. She had a litter of beautiful kittens and we kept 2 of them the others found lovely homes.

Awww, such nice story! It was nice of you to take him in and I'm really glad he came back.

What a cutie!!