Hanging out with the critters and an update- March 3, 2020

in #cats4 years ago

Been a while since I logged on here. Looks like everything has gone a little sideways!
Nothing new here, been working and living and generally avoiding social media for the last few weeks.
Why I haven't gotten much knitting done recently-
20200304_211844.jpg
But the blanket HAS been progressing, it should be done by April at the rate I am going. Already, it covers me very well!

20200126_183532.jpg

And I've been painting a few gnome ceramic statuettes. We had picked up 9 of these the year we moved into our house but only finished 3 of them before the place we were painting and firing them at went out of business. I found the last 6 while cleaning out some shelves over the winter and decided that they needed to be completed. These are Ninja Gnomes, they sneak in to do their work and are much more stealthy than your garden variety of gnomes.

20200301_155306.jpg

They start out as white ceramic, and since we can't get access to a kiln or the right paints anymore, I've primed them and then am using acrylic paint on them. With a clear coat to protect them once I am done.
20200301_155413.jpg

In other news, I've been on an food elimination diet since mid January and am now avoiding all dairy, wheat, eggs, seafood, and peanut butter. We've confirmed my egg allergy and a sensitivity to raw peppers and possibly paprika. It will probably be a few more months before I can start slowly adding things back in.

Meanwhile, the cats are cute, work keeps me busy, and we are looking forward to a spring and summer full of geocaching and gaming and hanging out with friends.

Here is one more shot of Kimba and Tiger being cute tonight after I finished cleaning the living room. :)
20200304_211817.jpg

I'll try to be around a bit more, lets hope this site continues to exist!

Sort:  

Yes, things do seem to be a little topsy-turvy these days... hopefully it will just be a passing storm, but I can't help but feel a little worried about the future of our community...

=^..^=

Glad you're coming close to finding the reasons for your health problems. Avoiding is not always easy or fun, but the results should be worth it!

"Gnome ceramic statuettes" sounds so artsy - garden gnomes in Germany were the symbol of stuffy, middle-class - tedious, till they took the detour through "kitschy" to "hip". Now there are modern gnomes, like you ninja ones (love them!), though there is still a divide between people with the "old-fashioned" ones in their garden and those with modern and clever ones. You rarely see both in a garden :)

We have some fun statuettes with gnomes. One with a dragon, one with either a dinosaur or Godzilla (can't remember exactly what at the moment), another with a cat. Perhaps I will remember to get some pictures and post them sometime.