Peanut update: overeating solutions

in #caturday4 years ago

peanut.jpg

Peanut is growing fast and turning into an active hunter who likes eating his prey. I was both horrified and amused at how efficiently he stripped the carcass of a dove that Yoda caught. He also eats locusts and lizards. I'm not happy about the lizard-catching part, hopefully he gets tired of that and switches to rats and mice.

He eats nonstop and drives the other cats mad because he gobbles his own food then runs to the other cats' bowls, grabs a whole mouthful of food and runs away to drop his loot and eat it. To stop him annoying the other cats, I started feeding him by himself upstairs which helped, except that he was still eating too fast and then throwing up his meal about 15 minutes later. Of course then he started eating that a bit more slowly.

Overeating and throwing up directly after eating is common with cats who eat too fast and the way to solve this is to make them work for their food. There are a number of puzzle feeders out there but they are fairly expensive and I am not working or earning anything thanks to the lockdown so I had to be creative. There are a number of homemade solutions and I decided to start with an ice-cube tray: his mouth doesn't fit in the tray so he has to use his paws to remove the kibbles and eat them one by one.

food2.jpg

No more throwing up directly after meals although he still whines at me constantly to feed him and jumps inside the fridge every time I open it. He's already learning to tip the tray over and spill the kibles but at least still takes him longer to eat and stops him vomiting.

food tray.jpg

he will graduate to an old egg carton quite soon, so that he finds it less easy to tip.

Sort:  

He’s a bully! :-)))
Does your state pay people who have lost their jobs in this situation?
Our state pays 60% of the salary.
Be careful, health to you!

No our's does not :( he's not such a bully, just a crazy boy

Si que está creciendo rápido. Eres muy ingeniosa con lo de evitar que el vomite. Es un gato muy inteligente. Saludos @nikv.

If it is growing rapidly. You are very clever about preventing you from he vomiting. It is a very smart cat. Greetings @nikv.

Hello @gertu! Yes, he's growing nicely. It seems for once that my brain is working well ;)

jajajajaja. Don't say that, you've always struck me as a very smart woman. And you keep testing it. A hug.@nikv

Happy Carurday!

my baby and I like to check your blog for Peanut' updates. meowww

meeow! Hello to you and your baby!

I have the same problem with my cat. She always vomits her food and would eat due to boredom. That was a creative solution you found with the ice cube tray, and a funny one too!

Try it, there are a couple of home-made ways to make them eat slower and less. It also helps with the boredom. I'll post more as I make them

He seems to have got muscles now.. I wish i could also give a kind of coco update.. But she has gone missing since last six months.

Oh no! I am sorry to hear about coco 😿

That’s amazing solution!! This cat is also too smart!! He’s big now!

Yes, he's very big and smart!

I wanna cuddle him! He looks very friendly!

He is very sweet and cuddly too. But only with me because he was so scared in the beginning. He's still learning not to be afraid of other people

Just like my cats! They just run away from strangers!

They are wise

Fine. Well already grown up. Apparently he has a good appetite.

Yes :)

How frikken awesome is that ice tray trick. I seen those puzzle feeders on Jax Galaxy vids. We have 2 pukers (vomits) We just make the portions a bit smaller. Let them finish and give a little more. But they are still about 50% of the time, throw uppers.

Gonna try that tray trick.

Thanx 4 the update. How long till The Surgery??

The ice tray works well, it takes him much longer to eat because even giving smaller amounts wasn't working because he gulped it so fast. There are other home-made devices around to slow down the eating, I'll make and share more as I try them.

Surgery is not due for another month but depends on lockdown. He's 5 months but has an undescended testicle and we are waiting for him to develop a bit. The vet is open but only for emergency procedures although if his hernia acts up, she'll take him. Luckily the hernia has stayed small and we don't expect trouble from it

Some cats can be very smart in figuring things out .. Looks like you have one of those.. It's a contest of our big minds against their tiny ones... They usually win out...:-)

It's all about motivation. If you have a combination of being food driven and smart, he's gonna win every time

Amazing how quickly they grow up @nikv, he's starting to look more and more like a cat rather than a kitten.

I'm sure he can be a little pain in the butt, but he sure is adorable!

=^..^=

Hi
I know I've been out of the loop, but I have tried to keep up with reading your posts; especially ones about peanut . Probably because we have two Siamese hybrids. Our youngest on, now 15 months old, is the largest of all the pride. He weighs in at 15+ lbs. I'm not sure if he's finished growing yet. The interesting thing is, He doesn't seem to be overly interested in being the Alpha male Like a couple of the smaller males are. I know it's been a while and you may have solved the problem, but it seems like Peanut is eating too fast. They have a special feeding dish that requires the cat to work a little more at eating, thus slowing him down. So by the time he's finished, his body tells him he's full. You may check that out.
Okay< I just finished reading some of your replies and see that you have already been given some ideas on slowing down his eating. Have they worked?

Yes I am managing and I just got him a new bowltoday that will be his final one, I think. I'll show it one of these days