You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Magick of Physics by Felix Flicker is well-written, endearing, engaging, and maddening

in #ccc11 months ago

Someone read this one!! I read it a couple days ago, and remembered I hadn't commented just last night as I lay in bed trying to sleep. I woke up this morning wondering if you had really posted something, or if I had dreamt it. And here you are!

This is a great read itself! You're very funny! I want that book!!! He's awfully cute, too.

Maybe I have the use of some of those crystals in my pineal gland, because I have always seen magic in numbers and physics. Loved them both in college.

This is why I love math. I always know when I'm right, and when I don't understand. There's only two choices, and I find both of those comforting:

"Once you understand a piece of mathematics, you understand it in exactly the same way as anyone else who understands it, regardless of what language you speak," Flicker reminds us. "Two plus two equals four however you write it."

Some questions: Why did you stop wearing the adventurine? Why did you start? Have you tried wheat grass juice? Are you still using the wands, and to no effect?

OK so, four squared is not 64. Cubed. You find the little grammatical errors, and I find the little math errors.

Sort:  

Did I write that four squared is 64...???
Oh dear.
THANK YOU so much for reading and commenting!!
The adventurine - held in metal/wire setting - was simply uncomfortable. My niece loves it. She owns it now. I found it on Amazon and it's supposed to promote positive thinking.

I want crystals in my pineal gland that enable me to know math!!!! You are blessed with so many talents. Math is the one aptitude I most want. Writing always came easily too me but math, never.

The wands! Yes, daily! Last night, the full moon shone in on us through the window, so I lay there with the wands in hand, and the throbbing and electrical tingling soon got to be too much. I put them away.
Riding in the car, watching a movie, I keep the wands in hand. Tim's little voltmeter shows that the wands do indeed produce a small amount of "voltage" (not to be confused with "current") - and I understand none of it.

Wheat grass juice... if it's gluten free, I need to try it.

You'd love The Magick of Physics. :) The videos are fun, too. Did you watch the Kapra review on vimeo? I bought his book in the early 1980s, along with "Einstein's Universe and Van Gogh's Sky," but couldn't fathom it and gave both books away. {cue the sad-face emoji]

ahven't watched it yet. I'm on the monopoles, but not watching closely enough to really understand it. I have a huge crush on him.

LOL! My husband accuses me of being infatuated with Felix Flicker. :)
The #1 book review at Amazon is by a fellow physicist and author, Dr. Brian Keating.
Keating has a podcast and a YouTube channel. This:

Arthur C. Clarke famously said, “Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.” Flicker’s imaginative new book provides ample service to that notion.

Never mind the thumbnail - this video is NOT THE SAME as the others I linked.

image.png

#Monopoles
How many times did I rewind, rewatch/
off the top of my head, I remember that magnets have a north and a south pole. If you cut one in half, a new pole forms at both ends of the shorter magnets. Keep cutting, smaller and smaller. The poles keep appearing at both ends. How small can you keep this going - to the atomic level? Can you reduce a magnet to just one pole (monopole)? Now I have to rewatch to see what his answer was. It took me forever just to grasp the question.

I also (finally!) can remember piezo-electric, but only after learning the Greek, piezo, means to squeeze or compress. Squeeze a crystal, and a spark flares to life. Hence, ignitions to cars and gas stoves. This, I can grasp.

But this new video, hosted by Keating - oh man. There's a LOT to hear, process, internalize, try to remember!

But you don't have to remember, you won't be tested on it, you just have to have read it once. Twice if you really want to, as many times as you want to, but it still won't matter if you remember it all.

I zoned out when he got to the solution. Too distracted today! So much to do outside!!!!

Yes - too many distractions! The garden, the dog, the cat(s)... Freddy!
Oh, I know I don't have to memorize what I've learned.
It just frustrates me that I want to remember what I've read but find it so very difficult to retain anything in my porous brain. I have to read several times just to understand this math stuff. Several more times (plus taking notes, writing it out) to REMEMBER anything... even after writing pages of notes, I'll still forget.....
here's hoping I don't live long enough to get even worse (dementia)

Brian Keating - ooooh, he teaches Poetry for Physicists???
Poetry for Physicists

.... essays by physicists such as Brian Greene, Richard Feynman, and Michio Kaku along with poetry (by poets ranging from Shakespeare and Keats to the most contemporary) which somehow addresses, exemplifies or complicates aspects of scientific thought.

image.png

In 2014, amidst the purported detection of a long-sought signal heralding the "spark that ignited the Big Bang', Keating was busy co-teaching a course at UC San Diego entitled "Poetry for Physicists", with Pulitzer Prizewinner Rae Armantrout. His first book, Losing the Nobel Prize was ranked a Best Science Book of the Year by Science Friday, Physics Today, Forbes Magazine, and selected as an Amazon Editors' Pick as a Best Nonfiction Book.

Keating's second book, Think Like a Nobel Prize Winner, is based on interviews from his top ranked podcast, The INTO THE IMPOSSIBLE Podcast. Think Like a Nobel Prize Winner distills the life-lessons of 9 Nobel Prize winners into a self-help guide for STEM professionals and beyond.

Oh I bet those poems are really lovely, elegant like a fully reasoning and questioning mind. Yum.

and, because I rarely shut up and leave the pc to go pull weeds (it's just sooo hot and buggy)....
Here are 12 poignant poems (and one bizarre limerick) written by physicists about physics, and I'm not gonna block quote all these paragraphs.

It can be said that science and poetry share the common purpose of revealing profound truths about the universe and our place in it.

Physicist Paul Dirac, a known curmudgeon, would have dismissed that idea as hogwash.

“The aim of science is to make difficult things understandable in a simpler way; the aim of poetry is to state simple things in an incomprehensible way,” Dirac grouched to a colleague. “The two are incompatible.”

The colleague to whom Dirac was grumbling, J. Robert Oppenheimer, was a lover of poetry who dabbled in it himself — as did, it turns out, quite a few great physicists, past and present. Physicists have often turned to poetry to express ideas for which there are no equations.

(More at the site linked above)

I have not read his poetry yet, but this physicist is a brilliant indie author and publisher of anthologies and promoter of fellow indie authors.

THE SEMAPHORE COLLECTION (5 book series)
Kindle Edition
by Samuel Peralta (Author)

Semaphore is a literary project/persona by Samuel Peralta. As one of the first streaming original poetry on social networks, Peralta's project became an online phenomenon, with over 10M downloads of 300+ poems, acclaimed for their emotive impact and craftsmanship. Originally texts and posts on multiple platforms, the poems have been collected and preserved in the Amazon-bestselling books of The Semaphore Collection.

Peralta's poetry has been spotlighted by the BBC, Best American Poetry, the League of Canadian Poets, the Shanghai Book Fair and International Literary Week, and elsewhere, and has won numerous awards, including the Palanca Memorial Award for Literature. He is a physicist, author, anthologist, independent film producer, and founder of the Lunar Codex cultural archives.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22340993-war-and-ablution