🎬 My Reaction to Being in the Same Room as a Celebrity

in #celebrities6 years ago

Getting aroundnew york (3).png


Hey, everyone!

First, a little disclaimer...

So for those of you who don't know, I have a side hustle going on as a background actor. Every now and then, I get a gig that allows me to see some cool film productions, talk to some interesting people, and get paid for sitting around and reading books. It's a cool gig and a much better form of income than a part-time job where I'd have to clean dirty bathrooms and deal with rude customers.

Since everything being filmed is going to air after a few months, I can't release any information about what was filmed in order to prevent the show's plot from leaking. BUT! I do have a story to tell you guys and I will do it without telling you what show it was nor information about what was filmed.

So let's begin... :D

Yesterday's set was hilarious. As a background actor, you generally don't know what show, movie, or music video you're going to be working on until after you are cast and booked. Also, I usually don't know anything about the actors and actresses that work on the sets because they are either lesser known people or because I just don't watch enough TV and movies to recognize most B-List celebrities and some A-Listers. Yesterday was different.

One particular man, that apparently wasn't even supposed to be there, decided to make a guest appearance. We were about to start filming another take when all of a sudden we all heard this man shout, "Am I in the shot?" Almost everyone in the scene turns their head and then there was a loud GASP. This man was Jim Carrey.

jim-carrey.jpeg

Image Source

This man is a legend. He has been a comedian for many years and is best known for The Mask, Dumb and Dumber, and Ace Ventura.

You can check out some of his work on Google by clicking: here!

But back to the point of this Steemit post. After I saw him, I was surprised and smiled. I knew that he was a "big shot" celebrity that has had a long and successful history in Hollywood. Although he is no longer extremely active in the Hollywood limelight, everyone on set clearly recognized him and was just as surprised as I was. But my friend that was standing next to me for the scene looked like he was about to faint. His eyes bugged out, jaw dropped, and he was speechless.

I always thought that I was going to be starstruck if I saw a big-time celebrity, but I wasn't. When I saw Jim Carrey, all I could think about was how "normal" he looked. I know that's weird to say because of course, he's a human, but it really came to my realization that the only difference between me and him was that he has had a longer lifespan of making decisions and those decisions have carried him to his level of success. Of course, my friend had a completely different reaction.

pexels-photo-708440.jpeg

If you are ever in the position of meeting someone that has garnered a lot of fame, you will notice what I mean. You will either be completely starstruck or you will be surprised for a short period of time and then go on your merry way. I suggest you do the second. I think it's great to appreciate someone for the work that they have done, especially when they have contributed something great to the world. But at the end of the day, we're all humans that have the same basic necessities to remain alive. It's somewhat humbling to think in such a way, at least for me.

But regardless, that was my reaction to seeing Jim Carrey. I know people react in different ways so I would love to hear some of your celebrity encounters! Share your stories in the comments!


Best Wishes!

o n t h e r o a d (1).jpg