You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HIVE CHARITY Dapp - Initial Thoughts - Discussion PLEASE

in #charity4 years ago

hey thankyou so much for the feedback. I have some instinctive responses to some of these pointers which I will list below;

  • 'reliable identification' has been proven to be a pretty tough concept, globally, locally, presently and historically. I think that where there is compassion there will always be someone who tries to cheat it, but we should not let that dampen our spirits. In place of 'reliable identification' I propose 'proven earnest endeavour' so that the team who lead the social blogging side and curation are transparent and can be monitored by the public. This is already possible on HIVE through the publicly viewable wallets and all of the social media outlets which allow discussion and open decision making etc. Naturally their responsibility will be to keep open communications with the various individuals and projects in question and to develop intuitive methods of ascertaining authenticity. Im not saying this is an easy task, Im just not sure how much faith I have left in official lines of certification and licensing, when we have a wonderfully perceptive and critical HIVE mind at our disposal!
  • 'No Free Money' I agree, and although those weren't my exact words I concede that I was a little flippant with my 'hey presto' comment. My understanding of the whole system is bit simplistic, and I am not an economist by any stretch of the imagination but my vague understanding is that if more of the currency is being bought then surely the value of the currency goes up? I don't know how the math works in relation to the inflation but people always seem to be clamouring for the coin to increase its value and from a laymans perspective the answer is to give people a good reason to keep investing. If you are suggesting that the current system of delegation, upvote and reward is not a viable system for the prosperity of this blockchain then that is a matter that goes beyond my current understanding. I am just applying my idea to what I perceive to be the current 'agreed' mechanic on HIVE.
  • 'donors'. I was not proposing that people put any money from their own pockets in to anything other than their own investment. I was under the impression that there is a certain amount of value generated every week on HIVE that the community gets to direct towards those who are most deserving. If I have misjudged the HIVE ecosystem then I apologise for my lack of understanding. Are you saying that the rewards pool effectively belongs to the investors and that if my vision were to be successfully implemented that it would negatively effect the biggest shareholders and perhaps cause a lot of resentment? If so, then I imagine the idea would not receive very much support here, but it seems a shame because this could be a wonderful opportunity for us to make a positive impact on the world.
  • a final point. I think that some of the power of this idea is that it would not only appeal to the wealthy but would be a viable option for all of those everyday folk who want to dedicate a small portion of their earnings to a charitable cause, without automatically losing their money to a mysterious organisation. The fact that it would count as a small investment fund/savings pot for them is a further bonus and would also be a first step for people getting onboard the HIVE community. Again, I concede that I am something of an idealist but there is so much cynicism in our world, I feel we ought to push for some balance!
    Please lets continue this discussion. Everyones input and critique is invaluable for the formulation of these ideas
Sort:  
Loading...