Behind The Scenes | Chennai Summer Unedited

in #chennai6 years ago (edited)

I went back to Chennai from Seoul with the intention of coming back within two weeks. I live in my own ideal world where things are uncomplicated and visas are easy to process. I ended up staying in Chennai for a little over two months. Chennai is my birthplace, my hometown, a place that I've always wanted to leave. For 4 years now I've been on the move, going back to Chennai sporadically for holidays, visits, birthdays and weddings. I thought this was going to be one of those trips.

It wasn't.

I should have had more time on my hands to focus on creating content and drawing. But I didn't. The 8 weeks flew by. Somehow within the shortest span of time, I managed to find a routine and had full mornings and evenings. We live in an age where photos are the new words, emojis the new punctuation. It's easy to capture your memories but also never to share. Here's some of mine from the 2 months, unedited.

IMG-20180705-WA0002.jpg

There were too many weddings to go to. Here is the #foreveralone club pretending to have a tryst with Love.

20180501_125002.jpg

Lunches looking like the delicious carbohydrate bombs they should be. Have to follow these up with naps.

20180507_053924.jpg

The family now lives in Bangalore and the rest of my Indian life is in Chennai so I did a lot of travelling between the two cities.

20180508_191003.jpg

Went to listen to my sister at poetry circles at this cool space, Lahe Lahe, in Bangalore

20180509_181400.jpg

Day trip to Pyramid Valley International - the largest pyramid in Asia. The Maitreya Buddha pyramid is a meditation centre. I discovered it when I was in architecture school and hitch hiked there many years ago. This time, the family came along and as everything is around them, it was more comfortable

20180510_181912.jpg

This is a japonaise. It's not Japanese. It's kinda French but I haven't met anyone in France who knows it by this name. It's also my most favourite thing to find in Indian bakeries. Keeps you on a sugar high for the rest of the day.

20180513_163733.jpg

My mother and my aunt are probably the biggest hippies on the planet. This time round I went with them to the astrologer's who predicted when I would get married. I had a nice laugh. I went because I'm curious and open-minded and all but I'm also never going back.

20180617_060458.jpg

These slippers (or chappals as we call them) are methiyadis. It's a Chennai brand and any cool person in Chennai wears them. They're versatile, durable and incredibly comfortable. Find someone in another Indian city wearing them and you know immediately they're from Chennai. It's becoming a bit too popular now though. We're not very happy. It's OURS.

20180702_183933.jpg

Got to water this garden and witness stunning sunsets everyday.

20180628_135901.jpg

Site visits with friends to see what they're upto in the architecture world. One of them is trying to defy the law of physics by building staircases that hang in the air.

20180630_184057.jpg

So. Many. Weddings. Also, no one should have an outdoor wedding when it's 35 degrees outside

IMG-20180616-WA0004.jpg

Salsa classes with Alex and @karunya

IMG_20180621_024157_332.jpg

This is Thomas. He Who Can Make Me Laugh Instantly. Here, he is actually 'working' on a book review. We spent a lot of mornings/afternoons working on our projects

20180625_153322.jpg

Iz my beautiful mum, dad and sister after we celebrated my father's birthday at Danushkodi.

And there's the moments that are not on camera. Playing badminton everyday, marvelling the bougainvillea in full bloom along the streets, getting an eye infection, dance practice for all the weddings, art parties, dance parties, cat parties and so much more. I think it was nice to go and find an entire support system in place, one whose foundations are unshakeable. One which will accept you however long you've not been in town for. One which won't care about all the unanswered whatsapp message and Skype calls. One that you can leave but also fit right into when you come back. Before I knew it, my visa came. My trip suddenly ended. I caught a flight and came back to Seoul. I think for the first time in my life, I will be homesick. It's been a pretty good summer.

20180617_055456.jpg

Goodbye, Sea. I'll be back sometime else.

How's your summer going?

Sort:  

Easy to get lost in time when your home town is like that. We're in winter here down in the South and I can't wait for it to be over

Yes, true! And suddenly the time starts to fly. I can't even believe that was two whole months. Gosh. I didn't realise I was on vacation while I was on vacation.

I can't wait for the summer to be over. I'm facing the peak of two summers this year and I've had just about enough! All up for the temperatures to drop a little.

This reminds me of your post about home. It is many different kinds of places but I think you summed it up here: one whose foundations are unshakeable

Your family is lovely, especially your conspiratorial mother and aunt, plotting your wedding....

By the way, my summer is going great. My daughter is traveling in Europe and stays in touch with Facetime. I watch the pets. Will have to attach some photos of these furry family members when I figure out how to do that.

Yeah, I was so glad I found the words to articulate it. And I think that's how I would describe any home. It doesn't matter how the top develops as long as the foundations are still there.

Thank you so, so much for the kind words! Yeah my mum and aunt are on a whole other trip. They try their best to plot my wedding. The astrologer said I'd be married by Jan. I laughed out loud and now have a bet with my mother that it most certainly will not happen.

Oooh! You have a daughter?! Thank goodness for technology which allows us to stay in touch with the people that matter so easily. I still love writing a good letter though!

I'm not sure you could see this on time but I tagged you in this post coz it seemed like something you would be amazing at!

Yes, I have a daughter, and a son. I don't talk too much about my life here, but as time passes I loosen up:)

I think your mom and your aunt look adorably mischievous. I can imagine the great fun they have together.

Thank you for tagging me in that contest. It seems like a place we would both be comfortable. The contest expired on July 23, but the magazine looks interesting. I'm usually comfortable around creative people--they tend to be flexible and receptive.

I'm still looking for your art posts. I hope you're happy back in Seoul. The art will probably come as your routine is reestablished. I'll be looking for it.