Is it me?

in #childcare4 years ago

Is it me or are children these days just more rebellious? I have a 6 years old daughter, Khloe, who has now been stuck home for almost 2 months. Recently we have been able to go out for walks and playtime outside but only for a short while in limited areas.

Our upstairs neighbour is divorced and every so often his 2 kids (around the same age as my daughter) come and visit. This has been the case this week.

Feeling bad for Khloe, I have allowed her to play with the kids upstairs, in the community garden only and under my strict supervision.

Yesterday she asked if she can go upstairs to the neighbours splash pool and ply with the kids there. I said no! Firstly I don’t know the neighbour that well at all and secondly she’s not allowed to go to someone’s splash pool without me there.
Si “no” it was! She said “ok” and went on playing. After about 30 min I could hear the kids but couldn’t see them from our balcony so I went out in the garden looking for them. I could hear water splashing and the voices were coming from the flat above!

Arrrrrrrrrrgh I said no and she said ok!!!

I went up only to find her in the splash pool with dirty disgusting water, 2 dogs and 2 kids! I was fuming at this stage and just grabbed her brought her down to the shower. Told her she’s grounded, she’s not allowed to play with her friends this weekend and she’s is not allowed iPad time.

Today, she’s acting as if nothing had happened. I understand that she’s 6 but c’mon, fish memory?! Is she not understand that what she did was wrong on so many levels? I explained all of this to her last night! I don’t know anymore. I feel like I’m failing as a parent here and failing to teach her that:

A) she shouldn’t go against what we have agreed
B) she shouldn’t go with almost stranger kids to their home
C) higiene! Self respect!! That water was disgusting and she is such a clean child. How could she go into that water
D) she should at least feel remorse when she has done something wrong

I don’t know. Just blabbing in here... 🤷🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️