My tryst with the Chinese New Year

in #chinesenewyear6 years ago

IMG_1105.JPG

Two years ago, I didn't know such a thing as Chinese New Year existed. I thought the Chinese, like the rest of the world celebrated New Year on the first of January. It was when I landed in Hong Kong in January last year that I got to know about this and see up close how auspicious an occasion it is for the Chinese.

I was so intrigued by the exuberance in the air in the days preceding the New Year's Eve. The effervescent natives prepare for family gatherings and gift exchanges with such high spirits! The houses are cleaned and new carpets and dishes are put in place to welcome the guests. Families and friends gather in Joy to welcome good fortune and happiness for another year!

IMG_1098.JPG

Looking around, all I could see was red color during those few days! Red paper cut outs and decor covered the streets and money was given out in red envelopes. I got two envelopes myself!! :) It is indeed a season of Joy in China this time around the year.

Last year, Rooster was the zodiac animal of the year. Huge cutouts and statues of Rooster covered the city of HK! I had a great time viewing the grand parade by Cathay and the brilliant fireworks near TST on the Chinese New Year's Day!

IMG_1109.JPG

This year, I was visiting Las Vegas around the time of Chinese New Year and was reminiscing the last year's new year fun! Little did I know that I will get to relive those memories as I step into the lobby of the great Bellagio!! I was totally mesmerized by the grandeur of Chinese New Year Decor in the lobby of Bellagio. The zodiac symbol for this year being Dog, the decor was dominated by so many cute doggies! I had an amazing time hanging out at the lobby cherishing my beautiful Chinese memories!

IMG_1127.JPG

I cannot wait to see how my tryst with the Chinese New Year is going to unfold next year!!

Sort:  

Nice photos.

Hey! Thank you so much ☺️