WHAT ARE YOU THINKING ABOUT...

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)

WHAT IS THE ROOT OF DEPRESSION

I was once reading a book titled "AS A MAN THINKETH". I was amazed the degree of sensitivity coming from the author. It changed completely the way i thought about life. But as a child of God how does my father in heaven want me to think?

Growing up all i ever thought was who i wanted to be and what i should do to get there. I kept a diary to record my personal activities daily, so as to make sure that i remain on the good course. My father was my satellite monitoring my daily activity and continuously sensitizing me on the need to make a rational decision in life. I always see my father as my guardian angle because i feel like without him by my side it will be difficult to understand thing s pertaining to life. My mother is the quite type who believes that God's plan for my life is the best and should not rely heavily on humanistic way of thinking. When ever mommy narrates her ordeal when she was young, i feel very emotional and cry with her. She was someone who paid strict attention to life issues and thought all the time about what to do and how it should be done. But it failed her completely cause she ended up with depression and failed massively in her bid to reach certain height. In fact i became very frightened and asked my self so "what should i think about". My mom indeed has recovered from it and living her normal life but all she wish is i could take things slowly. Whenever i complain of headache she will seize the opportunity and ask me what i am thinking about. She did that purposely to save guard me from living a depressed life. I was fully concentrating when i felt a sudden sharp pain in my head and passed out. The next day i woke up in the hospital with my parents , who claimed i blacked out and was not responsive. According to the doctor i should be made to rest and if possible absent from school for a week to aid recovery because i was becoming depressed.

GOD'S INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW WE SHOULD THINK.

Whatever the event whether christian or not, thinking is an action employed from the "youngest" to the "oldest". At times our thought are driven by emotions, at other times we may be problem solving. Even at night our minds continues churning , producing imaginations that can be frightful real or seem to make no sense at all.

But ans in every single aspect of life, God has given us a precise manner of thinking which will be to our benefit, as well as benefit to those around us. The Bible tells us that

by our own words we are justified, and by our own words we condemn ourselves (Matt. 12 :37)

The words we speak are first established in our heart. It is here where the goodness of God or deceitfulness and evil of Satan take haven and find rest in our emotions. These feelings are put together in a form of expression in our minds, then either remains in our hearts to direct our actions or come forth from our mouths.Some people believe they can control their thought, but our thoughts are projected through the heart, and your heart is directed through the God you serve. For those who have established relationship with God through his son Jesus Christ he told us to think of these things as written in PHILIPPIANS 4:6-9

6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
8 Finally, brethren, whatever things are l true, whatever things are m noble, whatever things are n just, o whatever things are pure, whatever things are p lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy - meditate on these things.

As children of God we should always allow the lord through his son Jesus Christ to sensitize us on what to think about. let not allow our hopes and aspiration lead us to over think which leads to depression. Most Christians are heavily depressed because we consider our difficulties and afflictions in life and think there is no hope . It is good to structure your life but it is important you allow the lord to lead you through it. Live a free life and never over think. AS written we should always consider the kind of things we think of.
NOW.jpg