The Curmudgeon's Bible - "The Man of Lawlessness"

in #christianity7 years ago (edited)

"He who now restrains it will do so until he is out of the way."
- 2 Thessalonians 2:7 -

NOTE: To get the most out of this discussion, it would be helpful for you to follow the highlighted links; you may want to "right click" and "open in new tab" or "open in new window."

For the "How'd they come up with that?" department...

I was blown away a number of years ago when I looked at this verse for the first time in the original Greek language.

Table of Contents

Has Jesus Already Returned?
Image courtesy of Samantha Sophia and http://unsplash.com

One phrase immediately jumped out at me.

Almost every English translation renders the final phrase of verse seven as some variant of "until he is taken out of the way."

How did they come up with out of the way?

While I will concede that it might be remotely possible, I think it is pretty difficult to get "out of the way" from the original Greek language. You have to have strong theological presuppositions to do so. You must stretch your translation to use the least likely possible meaning of this combination of words.

How could this happen? I suspect that the translators "took the easy way out" and simply followed in the footsteps of the 1599 Geneva Bible translation of the verse.

This is the original Greek:

ἕως ἐκ μέσου γένηται

Here is each word, with a link to its usual lexical meaning(s) and notes on the grammatical form:

ἕως - adverb

  1. till, until

ἐκ - preposition

  1. out of, from, by, away from

μέσου - adjective: genitive, singular

  1. middle
  2. the midst
  3. in the midst of, amongst

γένηται - verb: second aorist, middle deponent, subjunctive, 3rd, singular

  1. to become, i.e. to come into existence, begin to be, receive being
  2. to become, i.e. to come to pass, happen (of events)
  3. to arise, appear in history, come upon the stage (of men appearing in public)
  4. to be made, finished (of miracles, to be performed, wrought)
  5. to become, be made
Table of Contents
Translators have a tough job.
Image courtesy of zofiaEliyahu and http://pixabay.com

I think the typical translation is prejudiced by a particular understanding of future history. There has been a prevailing theological bias that assumes the influence of the Holy Spirit will be removed from the church.

Though broadly accepted, I don't think the phrase means "until he is taken out of the way." I believe there is a much more natural understanding possible. I think the phrase "ἕως ἐκ μέσου γένηται" very literally means "until out of the midst he appears."

This is more consistent with the context of this chapter. Please take a few minutes to read verses one through twelve of this chapter, <- by clicking the highlighted link. The passage is about the appearance, or the revelation, of the man of lawlessness.

Let's consider the key phrases.

"Now concerning the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ..."

Paul is looking forward to future history; to the promised return of Jesus.

"For that day will not come, unless... the man of lawlessness is revealed..."

Paul categorically states that Jesus will not return until after this "man of lawlessness" appears.

Note, the word revealed is used repeatedly in the chapter. Consider all the related language, words pointing to this appearance:

The word "revealed" (three times), "exalts himself," "takes his seat," "proclaiming himself," "signs," "wonders," "deception"...

Table of Contents
Translators have a tough job.
Image courtesy of Clker-Free-Vector-Images and http://pixabay.com

The principal subject of the passage, the "he," the "himself," and the "his," is none other than "the man of lawlessness." And so, it is a faulty assumption to associate the final phrase of verse seven with anyone other than the man of lawlessness.

"he takes his seat in the temple of God, proclaiming himself to be God."

This lawless one will pretend to be God, seating himself in God's temple.

"And you know what is restraining him..."

Something is delaying the revealing.

Here's a key question:

What is God's temple?

Many Christians who are preoccupied with prophecy, who are looking at political events unfolding, are being misdirected. They are looking in the wrong places. Some are expecting a rebuilding of a physical temple in Jerusalem. I don't think that is what Paul has in view here.

Table of Contents

Will the temple be rebuilt?
Image courtesy of Walkerssk and http://pixabay.com

In Ephesians, Paul tells us what God's temple is.

"So then you are no longer strangers and aliens, but you are fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God, built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Christ Jesus himself being the cornerstone, in whom the whole structure, being joined together, grows into a holy temple in the Lord. In him you also are being built together into a dwelling place for God by the Spirit."
- Ephesians 2:19-22

Stated simply, God's temple in the present day is the universal church, the body of believers among whom he will dwell forever.

What's the bottom line?

Sometime, shortly before Jesus himself returns, "the man of lawlessness," a pretender to the throne, will appear to the church. He will probably be an "insider," or perhaps some kind of "spiritual manifestation" claiming to be Jesus. Through most of the history of the church this has already been happening, but the final assault may be more persuasive than ever and may include astounding signs and wonders.

Don't be fooled.

Beware of anyone showing up in the church claiming to be Jesus or to have Jesus' authority. Accept no substitutes.

No matter how authentic, persuasive, or what mind boggling signs or wonders he may demonstrate, you can be sure that it's not Jesus. There is only one authentic Jesus, and when he does return, everyone will know it.

Table of Contents

"Every eye will see him." - Revelation 1:7
Image courtesy of Jeremy Thomas and http://unsplash.com

This is what to expect when Jesus returns:

"For as the lightning comes from the east and shines as far as the west, so will be the coming of the Son of Man."
- Matthew 24:27

You won't be able to miss it. Will you be ready?


Visit my Library Christianity Shelf for more in the "Curmudgeon" series.


Table of Contents


~FIN~

LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Very good. I've often questioned the ideas of many prophecy teachers for similar reasons. It seems pretty clear in the New Testament that the church "body" is the temple of God now. It's part of the reason why I really question the idea that the "mark of the beast" is going to be some physical mark, chip, tattoo, whatever. It's always seemed to me that the mark was more of an internal mark that was a representation of loyalty. Those sealed by the Spirit are Loyal to Christ, those who "take the mark" are loyal to the beast.

It's interesting you say to question anyone who claims to have Jesus' authority. What do you think of the idea of the majority of the reformers: that the Pope of Rome is AntiChrist? The Pope does claim to have Jesus' authority as the "Vicar of Christ."

Good read sir. I'm enjoying the curmudgeon's bible series.

Thank you, @garthfreeman.

I believe you are absolutely correct that the "mark of the beast" is symbolic and spiritual, and that it is the counterpart to believers who are sealed by the Holy Spirit.

I don't believe anyone can wield Jesus' authority in the same sense that he does, and I have never believed that the Pope is a Christ substitute...

P.S. Hope to do a post on "antichrist" one day.

I like your interpretation of this - I wonder what end-times videos or books you found compelling?

Long ago I read Lindsey's "Late, Great Planet Earth" but I have "left behind" the pre-tribulation, pre-millennial, dispensational views of eschatology...

I believe that Jesus' return will be universally visible and unmistakable, and will usher in his final universal kingdom. We are presently in that kingdom, but is is a "work in progress" that needs to be consummated.

P.S. I can't cite any specific books that currently grip me in this area...

I committed my life to Christ while reading Satan Is Alive and Well on Planet Earth

Fascinating. I am glad to hear that it had a positive impact, despite the theological flaws...

It did certainly fascinate me at the time.

I see no value in translating Greek in ways that the Bible translators avoided. Translators who knew much more about Greek than you do translated it differently.

The antichrist won't appear until after the pre-trib Rapture of the church. That's pretty obvious:

(2 Thessalonians 2:1-3 NIV) Concerning the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ and our being gathered to him, we ask you, brothers, {2} not to become easily unsettled or alarmed by some prophecy, report or letter supposed to have come from us, saying that the day of the Lord has already come. {3} Don't let anyone deceive you in any way, for that day will not come until the rebellion occurs and the man of lawlessness is revealed, the man doomed to destruction.

A "pre-tribulation rapture of the church" is a novel doctrine that has only been introduced in recent history. The orthodox doctrine has always been that the church will endure tribulation in the world.

"I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world."
- John 16:33

There is always value in studying and seeking a better understanding of scripture:

"Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth."
- 2 Timothy 2:15

The Temple WILL be rebuilt:

(Daniel 9:27 NIV) He will confirm a covenant with many for one 'seven.' In the middle of the 'seven' he will put an end to sacrifice and offering. And on a wing of the temple he will set up an abomination that causes desolation, until the end that is decreed is poured out on him."

That's one possible interpretation. We shall see. ;)

In Matt 24:3 The disciples are becoming very focused on His return. They ask "What will be the sign of your return." I always thought that the reason that this question came up was partly because they wanted to know how long they were going to be without Jesus there to help them. But the other part of it I believe they were interested in what they could get away with, like when the teenagers stay home from the vacation. "How much time do we have?" The law was the life of the Jew. For anyone who were at this point, 'of the way' it would have been an opportunity for the flesh. I am glad that God keeps this a secret. (no one knows the day nor the hour) Because it keeps you looking through the blinds.
1 John 3:3 (The thought of His coming purifies the heart)

"looking through the blinds."

I like that visualization! ;) Yes, we need to stay on our toes.

They ask "What will be the sign of your return."

My understanding of that chapter, after years of consideration, differs from most commentators. Most I have read take the entire laundry list of things Jesus says there as "signs of his near return."

In contrast, I take the list as "all this stuff will happen and be happening, don't let it distract you."

In other words, I think Jesus is saying this:

"You want to know the sign of my return? The sign of my return is my return, which will be unmistakable and un-forgeable."

I hope we see it in our lifetime. Its what I live for. I am completely consumed by Him.

I could not agree more! :) :D

@creatr, your application of the Greek is exactly what has happened. When the Holy Spirit was poured out on the day of Pentecost, God had a body of believers for the first time in history that were organized in a decentralized manner, which is how his kingdom functions. Ever since then, there have been elements at work to make the Church into a centralized institution. Paul refers to this as the mystery of iniquity (2 Thess. 2:7). This is why all the reformers of the sixteenth century referred to the pope as the antichrist, the man of lawlessness, as he was the head of a centralized religious institution claiming to be the Church. His office "appeared from the midst," just as Paul and John warned such power seekers would do (Acts 20:30, 1 John 2:19).

It is the re-emergence of the Church as a decentralized body of believers, cleansed of power seekers, that provides a context for Christ to appear the second time "from the midst," as it is written:

"Thus saith the LORD; Behold, I will bring again the captivity of Jacob's tents, and have mercy on his dwellingplaces; and the city shall be builded upon her own heap, and the palace shall remain after the manner thereof. And out of them shall proceed thanksgiving and the voice of them that make merry: and I will multiply them, and they shall not be few; I will also glorify them, and they shall not be small. Their children also shall be as aforetime, and their congregation shall be established before me, and I will punish all that oppress them. And their nobles shall be of themselves, and their governor shall proceed from the midst of them; and I will cause him to draw near, and he shall approach unto me: for who is this that engaged his heart to approach unto me? saith the LORD. And ye shall be my people, and I will be your God. Behold, the whirlwind of the LORD goeth forth with fury, a continuing whirlwind: it shall fall with pain upon the head of the wicked. The fierce anger of the LORD shall not return, until he have done it, and until he have performed the intents of his heart: in the latter days ye shall consider it." Jeremiah 30:18-24.

Thank you, friend @timothyb, for your encouraging comments. I greatly appreciate being reminded of these other supporting scriptures. It has been a while since I have studied this all in depth, but I've come back to it for the sake of my "Curmudgeon's Bible" series.

One of my concerns, however, is this:

"For false christs and false prophets will arise and perform great signs and wonders, so as to lead astray, if possible, even the elect."
- Matthew 24:24

Jesus warned us not to believe it in the context of his second coming.

verb: second aorist, middle deponent, subjunctive, 3rd, singular

It is a blast to parse right? ;)

I agree with the translation my friend. Actually, I have a 1599 Geneva Bible, and now you have me curious to read it tomorrow. Enjoying the Curmudgeon series. :)

Thanks for encouraging this curmudgeon... ;)

Sometimes through the process Bible translations get watered down intentionally or unintentionally...I do not know but they do. I appreciate your breakdown and what to expect part. I think you were called to speak out on Christ and God here on Steemit. I know your poem but still. He calls the least qualified to to do job. You have wonderful posts. I did one tonight that was christian -philosophically based too about our interconnection. I always seam to post them in the middle of the night. I wonder when the best time to post is? again great post and witness. - Troy

I like the presentation of the scripture please keep giving us more.....stay bless

Thank you, friend @odsam2, for visiting and commenting.

You can find a lot more on the "Christianity" shelf of my library - just click the GIF below and look for the shelf.

😄😇😄

@creatr

tnx for that great post

Great post.thank you for your effort !! 👍👍👍

Thanks.

You are welcome !

Great post. I'm not a Bible expert and it helps reading expositions like this. thanks!

This deserves some attention. Upvoted and resteemed :)