The Problem of EVIL...

in #christianity23 days ago (edited)

“Would God be willing to prevent evil but unable? Therefore he is not omnipotent. Would he be capable, but without desire? So he is malevolent. Would he be both capable and willing? So why is there evil?”
- Attributed to Epicurus...


Why is there evil in the world?

It doesn't seem to make sense, until...


sander-sammy-q7ZlbWbDnYo-unsplash.jpg

Why is there evil in the world? (source)


~The Problem of EVIL...~

by Duncan Cary Palmer

Someone posted "The Epicurean Paradox" on nostr today... This was my response:


There is a logical solution to this apparent paradox that anyone who hasn't already permanently pre-judged Jesus (the Creator/God) can readily comprehend.

"Care to elaborate?"

I was then asked. The rest of this article is my response.

Thank you for asking!🙏🏻😆

Here's my very personal take on this: I believe the paradox contains "false dilemmas."🤔

I'll walk through the paradox illustration, focus on the important points, and offer some answers I think the paradox overlooks.


Paradox.jpg

The Epicurean Paradox (source)


Evil Exists

Agreed.

Can God Prevent Evil?

Yes.

Does God know about all the Evil?

Yes.

Does God want to prevent Evil?

This is False Dilemma #1... This is not a simple "Yes" or "No" question. The answer is more complex than a simple NO, because God has a higher purpose.

Then why is there Evil?

Read on...🙏🏻😄

Could God have created a universe without these?

Yes, but it would not have achieved God's purpose.

Could God have created a universe with free will but without evil?

This is False Dilemma #2... A question akin to the childish, self-contradictory "Can God make a rock that he can't lift?" or "Can God create a married bachelor?" or "Can God make a square circle?"

I think the core problem is assuming (i.e., pre-judging) God's purpose and motivation, and (most subjectively) his personal intentions toward yourself. It comes down to a relationship question; "In light of the reality that I am experiencing significant pain as a consequence of the obvious evil in this universe, can I possibly believe that God is kindly intentioned toward ME?"

I have personally struggled with this question. Why—if God really loves me—have I been subjected to so much excruciating pain in my 70+ years? While I have not arrived at a detailed, personal answer to that question, I am comforted by the following observation:

God did not exempt HIMSELF from the consequences of allowing evil into the universe. He instead took evil on in a frontal assault. Father God suffered the pain of seeing his only-born son Jesus egregiously mistreated and ultimately painfully executed. God the Son, Jesus, directly experienced that pain as a mortal man.🫂

As a father and grandfather myself, I can scarcely imagine that kind of pain. I have, however, in part experienced it when we lost a grandson to barbaric cancer treatments, unable to intervene because of authoritarian state "laws." Nevertheless, as a follower of Jesus, I am comforted by his promise that both my grandson and I will—even as Jesus was—be raised from the dead to live in a reconstructed universe with every trace of evil eradicated. Jesus extends this phenomenal offer to all:

"Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life; he who believes in me will live even if he dies, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die—ever. Do you believe this?” She said to Him, “Yes, Lord; I have believed that You are the King, the Son of God, the One who comes into the world.”
- John 11:25-27

The Bible is explicit about God's benevolent intentions toward humanity, and particularly toward those who accept what he has said about himself.

"And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose."
- Romans 8:28

On the other hand, those stubborn enough to rebel against God and continue to wreak evil havoc in the world, despite his kind offer, will be put down.

Footnote: God WILL ultimately destroy satan, along with his followers and all traces of evil. In the meanwhile, we who accept the current reality, personally turn from evil, and express our belief that God is well-intentioned toward us by following Jesus... We incrementally reverse the impact of evil in the world through our lives and daily actions.

BTW, FYI, this Wikipedia entry helpfully describes the paradox more completely.


~FIN~


NOTE: Don't miss the enlightening hyperlinks in my posts.
IMAGES are my own, open source, by permission, or fair use.


For much more from @creatr, click the library image:
CircleLib.jpg


I would love to hear from you; please join Hive and speak your mind below!


Sort:  

Father God suffered the pain of seeing his only-born son Jesus egregiously mistreated and ultimately painfully executed.

The amount of long-suffering love that the Father showed in this moment - most would assume God would unleash legions of angels, overthrowing empires, before allowing His own Son to suffer. But instead, both Father and Son completed the plan of salvation.

!WINE