You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Christian Creationist vs. Scientific Worldview Debate

in #christianity6 years ago (edited)

God did not show me why creationism is real. I just believe him on a trust relationship on that point. I asked God specifically about why evolution was false, and this is what I was showed. It is a different question to ask why creationism happened or how it happened. The video covers just one point against evolution among the several I have accumulated.

I personally do not require or strongly desire to have a scientific explanation of creationism down to great detail, because even to just learn the little tidbit of why actual science should be skeptical of evolution, required hours of study on my part. Meaning, creationism is a complex topic, and to scientifically justify it correctly should take decades of research, and life-long dedication of multiple researchers garnering great insights into physical reality. For me, as one person to think I am going to wade into that, and do it real justice is asking a bit much of my capabilities and is an unrealistic demand for simple limitations such as time.

This all said, there are plenty of reasons thrown out there by creationists, for scientific reasons pointing to a creator. I will offhandedly mention some of these reasons, but I would not consider these reasons emphatic proof of Christian Creationism:

  • Information (DNA, Protein Structures) is not generated through known mechanisms such as Darwinian Evolution, information must come from somewhere, so where does it come from? From what we observe in reality, information comes from an information source. Related to this is the concept of intelligent design and irreducible complexity (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irreducible_complexity).
  • The Earth seems to be the center of the universe (Axis of Evil (cosmology)), or at the very least there is a huge X going through the universe and the Earth is in the middle of this X. Keep in mind, they had multiple satellites go into space because they were unwilling to accept the prior conclusions that seemed to indicate the Earth was in the middle. Such a worldview was so unacceptable that they spent a great deal of money to try to disprove it with a better satellite, thus demonstrating that the scientists understood that there are implications if background radiation puts a big X on the Earth, rather than showing the Earth is leaning toward one end of the universe rather than the other. In a random scenario, we would expect the odds to put Earth to one side of the universe, not something that seems to indicate the dead center of it.
  • Laws of reality seem geared toward allowing for things such as mathematics, or life existing (finely tuned universe), which also would not be likely if everything were random. One common permutation of this argument is why mathematics is even possible. A brief explanation of this idea from John Lennox, Christian Professor at Oxford:

And I used to have a longer list than this, but this is what I recall off the top of my head as some of the scientific / logical evidences. Another common one is that the Genesis account of creation mirrors the concept of the "big bang" quite well. I certainly have heard this used by many.

Sort:  

From your post:

God showed me the scientific reasons why evolution is false.

And apparently you:

have met God on multiple occasions

So you were shown some wikipedia links, which are renowned for being unreliable sources for any type of information. And this X thing you speak of isn't really mentioned much in that link. And from what I can gather is poorly understood and far from proven.

As to the rest, it appears that your understanding of the various topics listed in your comment is average at best.

But this isn't a debate that I can get into without offending people. So I think it's best for me to not participate.

The point of my post was never to prove creationism. I was talking about the science vs. creationism debate. My impression is you expected me to scientifically defend creationism. The point of my post, is that creationists are unequipped to do this, including myself. Thanks for taking the time to read.

I think it was your comment that your god showed you why evolution was false that triggered me a bit. It seems a little nuts for a god to give someone evidence as to why evolution can't be a legitimate discovery. In my opinion, any god would disregard evolution as a consideration. They are a god after all. So why bother themselves with silly human thoughts? It seems stranger still for one god to show someone evidence given that there are more than 4200 religions out there and something along the lines of 300 gods. Which god should you listen to? Which one should you take advice from? Which ones are real and which ones are the creation of silly humans?

I think it's very hard to post about this type of thing and not expect some form of debate to come about. Religion and atheism is a sensitive topic and will very easily trigger debate.

I think your post is worded very well and carefully for the most part. But the topic itself will always trigger someone who is passionate about this topic, such as myself.