Why We Marry.

in #christianity7 years ago (edited)

12549131_10206941285005027_8694224616537676375_n.jpg
I’ve been drowning myself lately with books that will help me as I engage into another chapter of my life.📖 I acknowledge my need to prepare mainly because I never passed this road before (ofcourse! ) and because I will never know for sure what’s waiting for me there. These books surely gave me inputs and tips on the important things to ponder as we get married. As a woman, its natural for me to think about the wedding and all the details of it and imagine how beautiful it would be to be walking down the aisle with my man waiting for me in the altar. Ofcourse before anything else, we really have to consider who we are marrying—I have another blog about choosing who to marry, check out “Soulmate or Solemate” in my homepage. Yes, it’s important to know WHO to marry but it’s actually more important to know WHY we marry. If we settle the WHY part then it’s definitely gonna be easy to choose WHO to marry. 💕

It is very crucial to ask yourself why you want to marry. Setting aside the man of your dreams, settle in your heart first why you have the desire to marry and partner with someone for the rest of your life. Ponder on these carefully and consistently. Be very conscious of your reasons because these will pretty much determine your standard and the qualities that you will be looking for in a man. If you want to marry just for the fun of it, then most probably you will end up with someone who is not serious about marriage. If your reason for marrying is so you can get away from all your personal issues, then most probably you will end up with someone with more baggage/issues than you. If your reason for marrying is pure lust, then you will be choosing someone who is as aggressive as you are.

Most of the time, when we are asked WHO do we want to be with for the rest of our lives. Instantly, we list down and share all the qualities we like from the person. We say we want someone attractive. Someone tall, someone dark, someone white, someone fair. We want someone emotionally and financially stable. We want someone younger or older. Someone who plays an instrument or someone who sings. And the list goes on..Most of the time, we are looking at the outward appearance of the person we want to marry–(there’s nothing wrong with this, but let’s just not make it our gauge in committing with someone). We are too busy looking around with our eyes and gauging our compatibility on looks and status. But really when all else fades, when beauty fades, when abilities and capabilities fade. Do we still want to be with the person?

And now, when we are asked why we want to marry, we here a pause. We never really thought about the WHY part. We are too consumed with the WHO part. These days, we choose who to marry and then we slowly answer why we marry. But I really think that we should always settle first WHY we want to marry. Because our answers and reasons will basically bring out the quality and character of the man we are looking for.

As for me, I want to marry because I want to have someone beside me, supporting me and encouraging me to fulfill God’s purpose in my life and someone to pull me closer to God whenever I have my down moments. I want to have someone whom I can freely express myself and not feel condemned when I strip off my darkest secrets. Someone who walks with me in my journey with the Lord. One who celebrates with me in my achievements and comforts me in my setbacks. With these, I have settled in my heart WHO I want to marry and the good Lord gave me someone I exactly needed. He gave me a man in His army and of His kingdom. A man who would fight for me and protect my interest. A man who encourages me to be better and who comforts me when I’m down but is stronger also to pull me back up again. A man who knows his identity is in Christ so he never condemns or judges me when I strip off my dark secrets. A man who God molded and prepared for me. A man who looks to the cross as his Standard of Love. 💟

How about you? Give your WHYs to the Lord. And allow Him to perform miracles in your life too. 😊!

"If you enjoy my writing about life, love, faith and goodness. Don't forget to follow me here. :) "