Gift

in #christianity6 years ago

Psalm 34:8 KJV
O taste and see that the Lord is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.

I always thought of gifts as something material. You know, when people talk about gifts, you think about wrappers, goodies, stuff you have always wanted but never got, family and friends celebrating with you.

But I found a gift of a different kind, from the One who loves me closer than closest friend or family ever could. A gift unexpected, and yet, as I slowly pondered upon it, a gift so marvellous and wonderful.

Isaiah 55:8-9 KJV
[8] For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord . [9] For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

He gave me the taste of family devotion. A sacred, sanctified first-hand experience of family devotion. A quiet time when the family sits together, reading God's Word, singing of hymns, praying together.

And it is a gift to me indeed. I never knew what family devotion was, born to a non-Christian family. Never understood what it was like. Never understood the special blessings that came with dedicated family devotion.

Truly, it made me realise, "How precious is the home who honours God in its daily activities, even in family devotion!" How it inspires me to lead my family so, should I get married, that we may enjoy the blessings of God together.

Joshua 24:15 KJV
And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord , choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord .