"'Ampa, Tell Me A Story" - ๐Ÿ‘A Shepherd's Christmas Tale๐Ÿ‘

in #christmas โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Everyone loves a story! It's how we grow up; listening to and loving stories....

Today, I want to share a fresh introduction to -- really, only a glimpse into -- the greatest story of them all... So great, I'll ask you to go get that cup of coffee or cocoa, set aside any distractions, and really "tune in" to hear it.

So, please settle your mind. Take a few deep, calming breaths. Focus your soul, and pretend along with me that you're hearing this for the very first time...

๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ๐Ÿ”ฏ


Everyone Loves a Story

Everyone Loves a Story
Photo courtesy of Chinh Le Duc and http://unsplash.com

"Moishe, it's time for bed!"

Avi Ben-Adam, preoccupied with his record-keeping, had allowed the candle to burn lower than it ought. Of course, grandson Moishe had taken advantage of 'Ampa's distraction to stay up later than usual.

Being creative (as most children are), Moishe had another ploy to extend the day:

"'Ampa, tell me a story!"

"Bubbala, it's late!"

"But 'Ampa, I want to hear about when you were a shepherd!"

Ben-Adam hesitated, as if his decision could go either way. But, oy vavoy, wasn't this his eyniklekh, his own flesh and blood?

"O.K. boy, but tomorrow you go to bed early, you hear me?"

"I will, 'Ampa! I promise!"

๐Ÿ‘ผ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ‘ผ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ‘ผ๐Ÿฝ

Avi Ben-Adam cleared his throat, looked off into the distance, and then, in his best story-telling voice, began:

"Child, it was a very cold night."

Your great grandpa (my Abba), uncle Eldad, and I had just gotten the sheep settled into a small hillside ravine. We were camped on the downhill side, guarding them from any lions that might sneak up the valley.

Abba was almost asleep in his bedroll, but Eldad and I were sitting on a boulder, talking about girls. Our small fire had already gone out. A few remaining coals were barely keeping our feet warm.

The night was moonless, and the stars and the Sky River were beautiful over our heads.

Lonely Shepherds

Lonely Shepherds
Photo courtesy of nima hatami and http://unsplash.com

I was starting to nod off, thinking seriously about crawling into my blanket roll, when,

Like lightning, a shining man appeared right in front of us.

His face, his clothes, everything about him - he was like the sun! He lit up the whole surrounding valley.

The SUN

Like the SUN! He lit up the whole valley...
Photo courtesy of David Law and http://unsplash.com

We were blinded and thunderstruck! I fell over backwards off the boulder, trying to hide from this terrifying sight.

"It's O.K.," he said to us. "You don't need to be scared."

That was easy for him to say; Eldad and I couldn't stop shaking! How could we? I had never seen anyone like him before, and never would again. His voice sounded like thunder, echoing back and forth between the cliffs.

The shining stranger smiled as if to reassure me,

"You're really going to enjoy the news I've got."

"News?" I mused. Is this blazing creature some sort of messenger? Seeming to read my thoughts, he continued.

"In fact, everybody with a heart is going to love what I'm about to tell you. Today - just hours ago - a very special baby was born."

What's this? A baby? Who could it be....?

"Down in David's town. One Who has been Chosen, Sent to deliver you. This very day, GOD has come to earth; God has become a man."

Could it possibly be...?

"You want proof?

Go ahead! Check it out! You'll find the babe warmly wrapped... in a hay trough, of all places!"

My courage was just starting to return. As I peeked over the top of the boulder, my world was blown apart again.

๐ŸŒŸLike a burst of stars, hundreds more shining men appeared.๐ŸŒŸ

We were surrounded; filling the air above, and on all sides, was an army of fearsomly blazing soldiers. I felt their brilliance like a force of nature, almost like a hurricane blast.

They all started speaking at once; the sound was deafening!

โœจ"Hallelujah!"โœจ

โœจ"GLORY! GLORY!"โœจ

โœจ"God is GREAT!"โœจ

โœจ"HE has kept His promises to Adam, to Eve, to Abraham!"โœจ

Their mighty chorus of voices reverbrated back and forth among the hills.

โœจ"From now on, all men with heart can be at peace."โœจ

โœจ"The Prince of Peace has arrived! GOD with us. GLORY!"โœจ

Bubbala, I began getting so excited! I could hardly believe my ears! The Promised One - all my life, I had thought your great grandpa was just making that part up - Emmanuel was really here? Now? And, right down the hill in "The House of Bread," in Bet'le'hem?

Just as I was beginning to get my shaking under control, suddenly as they had appeared, they were gone. Vanished! Where? Back up into the sky, I guess.

The hillside was again dark; the echos of their powerful voices died away. Now the silence was deafening. The dazzle in our eyes faded slowly, and, blinking, we could once again begin to see our starlit surroundings.

Eldad and I looked at each other... Then we went and shook Abba awake.

Oy, can you believe it? Your great grandpa had slept through the whole thing! I wish you could have known him, Wow! Was he a heavy sleeper!

Lonely Shepherds

Lonely Shepherds
Photo courtesy of Biegun Wschodni and http://unsplash.com

"What happened next, 'Ampa?"

Quickly catching on to the child's ploy, Avi Ben-Adam replied:

"Forget it, Moishe! You know what happened next! Let's save the rest of that story for another night... Suffice it to say, Eldad and I practically ran all the way to town.

Just like they had told us; we found Him - baby Yeshua - King of Kings, LORD of lords - Can you believe it? - wrapped in rags, lying in some hay!?

"Oy vey, What a disgrace!"

๐Ÿ


NOTE: If you've come this far, I hope you have enjoyed this story. I would, of course, greatly appreciate it if you were kind enough to Re-Steem it, up-vote it, and follow me (if you don't already?).

Of course, you could also help Steemit if you were show this to your friends on Facebook and elsewhere! ;)

Up until 3PM CST December 20th, you can also go to this link and VOTE FOR ME AND MY STORY to win in @stevescoins Christmas Story Contest, and I would be most grateful if you do!

When you get you need to scroll down, find the bottom of my story there in the comment section, and click the vote link... THANKS!


For a topical index to many of my other interesting articles, CLICK HERE


Did you enjoy this post? Check Out my Table of Contents:


@creatr

Follow me, I'm creatr

Sort: ย 

It reads much better on here than in a reply post. Looks better too. I like the changes, however slight. Good story. I'll resteem it.

so true...maybe I will do future contests asking for an introduction paragraph and a link to the story.

That would be a good idea - as a reader, I had a hard time finding the stories in between comments and ratings etc. I love your contest however.

I had the same problem in finding the stories to count the votes ;)

hmmmm a conundrum....I don't have any ideas for you....you can't ask people to go back and forth on posts either....so keep it the way it is....:) It's good enough and drives lots of conversation so that's a bonus.

actually, I was thinking about collecting the stories in one post, then posting them and asking for votes on another. I think I'll try that next time ;)

Sweet and kind, you are! ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡
THANK YOU very much!

I enjoyed that as my bedtime read, :)

Thank you, Karen! Sweet dreams! ;)

Wow! A great response to your story, creatr - I agree with countrygirl - it looks better as your blog post than a response. Nice work!

ย 7 years agoย (edited)ย 

Thank You, my friend John! I appreciate your encouragement, and thank you so much for your suggestions, some of which I selectively incorporated into my story.

Yes, I agree, in the "full page" format, with decent typography and screen-wide illustrations, it does have a better impact.

I read it aloud to our weekly Bible Study meeting this evening, to good effect. Perhaps I'll do a "follow-up" audio version of the story? Told in 'Ampa's "best story-telling voice?" ;)

ย 7 years agoย (edited)ย 

that's a good idea! I'll bet you sound like Dylan Thomas reading a Child's Christmas in Wales. ( I sound like Truman Capote) LOL!!

Well, the timbre of my voice may possibly be similar to his voice, but my reading will be absent any trace of a British accent... ;) Thanks to modern technology, it will also be absent the clicks and pops of the vinyl record media... :D

Thank you for bringing Mr. Thomas's lovely reading to my attention... it's mellow tones are reverberating in my hearing even as I reply to your kind message. ;)

A hearty THANK YOU! to everyone who has up-voted this story, re-steemed it, and to my new followers! You, individually and collectively, are the why of my being here. It is you that I write for, YOU, my faithful readers. I can't begin to thank you enough! ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡

ย 7 years agoย (edited)ย 

Thank you for posting @creatr. Yes the Good News .....the perfect bedtime story.

All the best in the contest.
Happy Christ-mas.

Thank you, @bleujay, for your instructive comment!

In my re-telling, I allude to believers as those who "have a heart." ;)

The thought crossed my mind that is what you meant.....just checking:)...i will leave you to it.

Did bleujay say.Good story-telling...good pace and rhythm.
bleujay meant to. Yes ...bleujay will keep an eye on it...no worries.
It is about the Good News. Thank you for participating in SCoins contest.

Thank you for your kind encouragement! :)

Good story telling, good luck - you have my vote.

Thanks muchly! :)