The difference between Christians and Christians

in #church6 years ago

fgcu preach.jpg

As I sit in my apartment, shared with 3 other girls, I am interrupted in my thoughts. In the common living room, a church bible study group is occurring. One of my roommates is a small group leader and volunteered our apartment as their meeting spot.

Now this isn't a rant on religion, I am religious myself but in a different way. I am Christian. The first thing that probably popped in your head was those Christians who try to convert you, or that annoying guy on your college campus who rants about sinners and hell.

I am not that kind of Christian. I am the kind of Christian who was raised with a different religion that was shoved down my throat and forced on me. When I converted to Christianity it was because I chose to. I believe that when people need religion they will go find it.

I have dealt with many different kinds of Christians, honestly most of them are the overbearing ones. My roommate is one of them. I am not allowed to curse in my apartment because it is ungodly, I am not allowed to have sex because it's intended purpose was for marriage, and I'm not allowed to get drunk because it's ungodly. Now, I'm not saying I get drunk all the time, and I'm not saying I curse all the time..but sometimes they slip. It's human nature to make mistakes but God-forbid I do it next to my roommate.

But this is not about that, it's the difference between Christians and Christians. A real Christian is supposed to love all of God's creations. That means love gays, love all skin types, and do not hate on others. As God's people you should love one another as you love yourself. People forget that because they are too busy reading the bible that states you can't love someone of the same sex.

The bible also says that you can't get tattoos or change your body, and that you can't wear cotton and many other things. No offense but the bible is outdated. The original message should have stayed the same. Love your neighbor, do not kill, do not cheat, do not steal, remember to rest, love God, and that's it.

Sex is a tricky topic only because the bible states it's to be saved for marriage and I can see why (from personal experience). Sex takes a huge toll on you. It can affect you emotionally and physically. Saving sex for a special someone is how it should be changed, or used in protection. Sex can be great and it can be terrible but if you are responsible about it then it can be enjoyed. That whole born-again virgin thing is BS just learn from your past experiences and change the way you act in the future. You live and learn.

I am a Christian who does not try to force people to go to church, or who tells them what their doing in a sin. I believe everyone should live their life the way they want to and when the time is right God will act in their life. I didn't start going to church until my life completely fell apart. I was alone and at the lowest point in my life, so I sought out a church to find a community and help. I chose to seek God, and I believe others will do the same when they need it too.

I think that's the difference between a Christian and a real Christian. One is accepting of others because they know what it's like to have religion shoved down your throat or to not be accepted. I strive to let people know that not all Christians are like the ones who scream bible verses in your face, there are Christians out there who actually love and accept all regardless if they religious or not.