Friday Night Classical: Studio Ghibli 25 Years Concert

in #classical-music6 years ago (edited)


A special treat for this week's Friday Night Classical!

What better way to end the work week than to enjoy this video of a concert filmed in Japan to commemorate the 25 years of animation by Studio Ghibli.

The orchestra is conducted by Joe Hisaishi himself. Hisaishi has worked closely as a composer with Studio Ghibli and composed the music for many of Hayao Miyazaki's animations.

Needless to say, the soundtrack plays a large role in giving life to a film, and in conveying ideas and emotions in cinema. Jaws wouldn't be the same if not for the Jaws theme, and the same for films like Star Wars and the Pirates of the Caribbean. But, working together, Hisaishi and Miyazaki managed to create an entirely new artistic world.

Thanks to Hisaishi and Miyazaki, we have films and characters such as...
image.png

image.png

image.png

Minimalistic wallpapers by darkprinceah.


Leave a comment with suggestions for what I should listen to next week!

Sort:  

Wah... Nice one! I've watched it before, and I'd watch it again. I really like Joe Hisaishi's works, though tbh, I think most of Ghibli's composers are good :)

Yes, I've been playing this on repeat and I really think the music is a large part of why the animations have been so good and popular. Welcome back btw!

Right! The two (music and art) complement each other so well, the studio really makes great works :)

Thanks!

I like Spirited Away! But I havent watched other Studio Ghibli works like My Neighbor Totoro.

I love all those anime songs even if I don't understand them :) I don't have a recommendation for classical music though.

Thanks for the reply =)

I highly recommend all the films made by Miyazaki! Especially The Wind Rises, the latest one.

Thank you! I'll check that out :)

I would love to be there or better yet be in the orchestra or choir. What an honor that would be.

Thanks for the comment @leeart! Yes, it would have been amazing to be part of the concert, even if I was just backstage. Do you play an instrument or sing?

I used to sing in a choir during my school days. That's why I appreciate events like this. I am not musically talented but I love hearing different instruments and different voices come together.

Yep, that's cool. I had the opportunity to be involved in music while attending school as well and it was such a great experience.

Are you still involved now? In what way were you involved? Do you play instrument. I can play the guitar but only the basics.

Great music combined with some stunning visuals! I don't know much about the anime scene, so this was an eye opener for me!

This post was resteemed and will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

his cool vidio is greatly enjoyed