My Experience Is Climbing Gurutee Mountain Part-1

in #climbing6 years ago (edited)

Hi happy steemian friend.
image image image image
In my free time I would like to share my experience while climbing the mountain, because I am quite adorable by my friend's writing about how exactly the condition of the mountain. There is a section where he writes that the mountain is not always about his natural exoticism, but also about how bitter the experience is on the mountain. Both are true. The mountain is beautiful, but the mountain is also ferocious. I also feel the mountaintopness when climbing Mount GURUTE Aceh Jaya.

Gunung GURUTE has unparalleled beauty in Indonesia located in ACEH province of aceh jaya district, 70 kilometers from banda aceh city center.
Geurutee mountain peak that can be said perfect with the natural beauty around him, the expanse of rice fields, gardens, sea and forest that makes the top of the mountain gurutee into an exotic place.

I first set foot on the Mountain gurute is in the year 2016 where I was incorporated in Smur VenturE, a nature-loving organization on my campus, at that time we have just officially accepted as a new member of this mapala, counted, me and my friends is the fourth generation. The climb to this mountain is for testing new members signing up, even though they are actually my friends of the same age.

Either that date. I forget the date and month where I climbed. To be sure, we were leaving with 10 climbers, most of them are beginner climber, really beginner means mountain gurutee this is the first mountain that we climb. I myself am quite worried about our small number especially when we first do.

Our trip started from basecamp. We Departed with a rental vehicle in the form of a bus belonging to the campus. the journey begins when it gets dark. 3 hours we spent in the vehicle to get to the foot of the mountain. The point where we will start the climb. This mountain foot is actually not an option to ride. Most climbers choose the village path located not far from the foot of the mountain to ride. But, no problem for me, anyway, will come.

My first concern was when the committee of this event (new generation) enrolled us for a ride. It was late and automatic, the official ranger had not opened the registration for the climb. Come help to register us from another ranger. Somehow, I feel something's wrong here. Sure enough, this registration is under the hands.

It took quite a while to be able to register all the climbers. Our goods are checked one by one, sharp objects are checked carefully, even with chemicals. These objects are objects that are forbidden to be brought up. Even if possible, everything should be recorded correctly. Time is getting late. I saw the clock in the basecamp room, around 1 am. At that time I was quite hungry, considering I have not eaten since the afternoon and the committee did not provide snacks for participants. What a terrible preparation for me.

The ascent finally begins. We started by praying for the safety of all of us. Hoping that nothing bad will happen to us. The first step we finally took. I was in the sweeper position that night, taking a position on my own back. Step by step we swing to climb. However, shortly from where we started the journey, the disaster began.

Dian, one of the 5th graders who participated in the climb had respiratory problems. He had a very tightness. It was so bad he used oxygen cylinders to breathe. I myself do not know exactly since when he was suffocating, when I arrived, he was already using the oxygen tube. The path grew slow and I saw that he was very overwhelmed to breathe. We had time to offer him back to basecamp, but he refused and kept on traveling with the help of other friends.

The journey progresses slowly, one by one climber in the group began to exhausted, whereas the track that we passed is practically friendly because the track is a track to the waterfall. I can not force them to move faster, they will be much less exhausted if forced to move faster. I do not know how many we stopped that night, Until finally the time came for dawn prayers, me and some friends take time off for prayer. At that time there was not even a third of our journey.

Under these conditions, I and my other senior friends decided to change positions. I was previously in the sweeper position, moved forward to become a leader with friends and seniors. We brought 3 pieces of tents out of 5 existing tents,so that later when we get to the next basecamp, we can immediately set up a tent so that other climbers can immediately rest. Our step at that time can be spelled out quickly. An hour after the trip, we took a break. There are some climbers of women who increasingly exhausted. I myself experienced a very hunger. I eat what there is, bread and a little drink to add energy. We rested until the group behind us arrived.

As soon as another group arrived, I and my seniors left immediately. 6 people in one group, there was only one female climber who was in a group with me then, while the rest we let rest and join the next group. The journey is getting heavier, the terrain is getting uphill. In fact we had to climb a little because there is a fallen tree that blocked the road. This journey continues to climb until there is a waterfall where the water that flows is hot water and this waterfall we must pass to get to the point of basecamp. We tread slowly to cross the flow of this waterfall. The hot steam generated from the waterfall is quite disturbing to my view because I use glasses, which means that the vapor will be involved in my eyeglass lens. But finally we got to basecamp smoothly.

At this base we take a break, fill out water supplies and freshen up. We brushed our teeth though without toothpaste because the toothpaste included unlawful items in for carry. We had been stripped naked by other climbers' views for brushing their teeth. Relax, we answered calmly, "Just a toothbrush, no toothpaste."
Then we laughed.

The journey from this second basecamp is getting heavier. There is no such thing as a flat track, all uphill. Even an extra step is required to tread. The second incident is present. Juanda, a climbing companion, began to struggle. The sweat that ran from her body looked unnatural. Too many in my opinion. Senior then decided to divide into two small groups again. 4 people left first with a tent, while I was assigned to be a companion Juanda trip at that time.

Very slow, really very slow. I even had to swap my carrier with hers. I did not bring too much stuff back then, only 40 liters and everything was sufficient, while Juanda carries more loads, heavier for sure. Apparently not much help, the steps are still slow. In less than 5 meters we walk, he had asked for a break. I myself must inevitably have to follow the tempo of his way. It's okay, it's for his safety. Even though we walked slowly, to get to the last Post before heading to the top of the mountain. The other groups finally got one by one at this post, not to mention the marwan who from the beginning was exhausted.

We all rested long enough in this place. I myself had a nap in the tent with friends of other climbers. Other friends are making food, others are chatting with each other. Quite calm in this place. But it does not last long. The rain then flushed this place, quite swiftly, and long enough. We were all stuck in this place for hours.

The rain finally subsided. The journey continues, but not all climb up to the top. There are some female climbers who are no longer able to climb and are forced to stay in the Post. I myself with my two senior people at that time, juanda and ihsan remain in the Post. It is quite risky to leave these sick people unattended. Climbers group was divided into three major groups. Each filled group led by senior. Not forgetting they pray for their salvation.

What happens next is very unexpected. This calamity is his name. Heavy rain tends to storm down, hit us all. I do not know what happened to the other climbers who climbed to the top of Mount Gurutee at the time. Worry continued to haunt me. Praying is the best way I can do at the moment. Praying will not happen unwanted things. However, all that did not materialize, one group began to descend back to the Post.

Most of the members of this group experienced coldness due to their wet clothes. I asked them to change their clothes immediately. One person at that time, riska, was attacked by extraordinary cold. Need extra energy to make his body back stable. Hot drinks, our sleeping bags pile up to keep warm. Several times I try to give massage in the foot for a little relax. Raised body improves, his body no longer feel cold. I then cooked hot water to spare while waiting for another group to go down because of the news I received, all the teams will drop back to the Post.

The second group never arrived. Though the first group that came to first say that the distance of one group with another group is not so far away. I waited expectantly in my mind that there were two group members who had hand injuries. This I know from the first group members. The day is getting dark, they do not go down too. As I know, the first group only took half an hour to get to the Post. However, this group has not reached the post for three hours.

Finally the second group arrived and the condition of the group was much worse than the first group. One person experiences mental shock, his first ascent ends up disastrous. One person suffered a hand injury, the right hand finger twisted after a knock due to slip when holding on to plant roots. The worst was a marwan who experienced acute hypothermia. I am panicked. The first priority is to treat Marwan, hot water, hot food, sleeping bags, dry clothes, jackets, caps, everything we try to keep Marwan's condition worse. Also counted about 6 people who embraced Marwan including me to keep his body warm. I myself tried to keep in touch with Marwan so that he would not fall asleep in such a critical state. This time it took us longer than the time it took to make the juanda stable.

Surprising news later I received from this second group, it turns out the last group consisting of a friend of one generation and senior still forced myself to climb up to the summit of the mountain. I do not know what's on their minds. They are too compelled to get to the top in this impossible circumstance. I was annoyed, they seemed to not appreciate the safety of their own lives.
image
To Be Continue