Why I stopped coding

in #code5 years ago (edited)

Like many other, after I graduated from high school I went to college. I was passionate about tech my whole life and so I enrolled in computer-science. I knew that coding was part of the course and it was unavoidable. But little did I realized how big a part it played in the culture the computer science departments and students who study it. I started with very little stress and thought I just had to get through it.

I quickly learned I hated to this and had no passion for it. Which meant that I would never be great at it. The most I could accomplish with minimum time spent on it would be "average" or below average.
I also realized that this would not be to or the people who I would work with in the future. Because who wants to work with some who is bad at their job. Even if you can fake your way through the hiring process eventually, you will be found out. I would be miserable and create a bad culture where I would do a bad job or depend on others.
Going down this path I would slowly be creating a hell for my self that would eventually become a downward spiral.
I think its moments like these where a person is engaged in deep thought that he or she can grow and mature and look inside and realize that money and option of other are worthless if you don't feel alive every day that you live.

Dropping coding was a big decision and I felt the disappointment of others. But this was not gonna stop me from finding something I truly loved doing.

Sort:  

Congratulations @zefron! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!