Introducing the Coding Challenge

Welcome to the Coding Challenge.

Here I will post a coding challenge every few days that you can solve. There will be easy ones and hard ones, pretty mixed.

How does it work?

  • Try to solve the challenge in whatever language you find fitting
    • You can use a new language you always wanted to learn or show off your golfing skills
  • Post a comment containing your code (in ```code here```) and some info on how the code works or what is remarkable
  • Optional: Create a post with the tag #coding-solution
    • In that post walk other users through the process of solving your challenge. That way they can learn and try it out on the next one
  • Optional: Read and review other peoples code, try to find bugs, give feedback and learn

Why even bother?

  • Training is everything, the more you train your mind to think in code, the better you are prepared
  • You may learn a few new tricks from reading other solutions
  • I will send tips for really good solutions (and use the liquid rewards of this post for it too)
  • You may get recruited if someone likes your code (f.e. I am looking for talents)

Challenge #1 – FizzBuzz

This challenge is a pretty basic one, but the devil lies in the detail.

Implement a fizzbuzz function taking an integer n that abides to these specifications:

  • if n is a multiple of 3, print Fizz
  • if n is a multiple of 5, print Buzz
  • if n is a multiple of 3 and a multiple of 5, print FizzBuzz
  • in all other cases print the number

Also create a snippet or main function that calls fizzbuzz for all values from 0 to 100, ascending.

Remarks:

  • If you use a pure functional language, try returning a string instead of using a print Monad (both are allowed)
  • Bonus points for:
    • handling edge cases
    • good coding practices and modularity
    • useful and meaningful tests
    • beautiful (readable, self-documenting) code

Please keep the #coding-challenge tag clean of solutions.

Sort:  
Loading...

Two solutions with Haskell: http://codepad.org/tIR16emr

Screen Shot 2017-08-17 at 9.21.12 PM.png

Thank you for your submission! I really hoped that I get a Haskell one 🐑

Your first solution is pretty concise, not much to say there. The second one is really cool! Abstracting it as rules is smart and that filter reduces logic duplication.

I think you can make this a bit more readable with making rules a constant and extracting the tester in a helper function that has a good name.

Looking forward to you writing a post on how your process was, implementing the second version of it.

Only comment I have is the question asked for 0 to 100 but the solutions are for 1..100. How does either solution work for 0? Dealing with 0 shouldn't be too difficult, though 0/x is going to be 0 and 0 mod x is also 0. I guess it will/should print FizzBuzz for n=0.

True his solution starts at 1, good catch, here is a tip! But yeah it will work with 0, pretty sure.

Hi @ratticus! You have just received a 0.5 SBD tip from @reggaemuffin!


@tipU quick guide | How to check your pending payouts.

I don't know what you mean by

making rules a constant

It's already a constant there.

Since the filter phrase used once and it's a short one, I'd argue it's easier to read it this way.

I implemented/borrowed the second one because I wanted to have a generic solution that is easy to expand or change with new rules. Now, all you need is to update the rules to get a new FizzBuzz.

Loading...
Loading...

Ooh, this is right up my alley! I'll start out with JavaScript (because I already know it) but I might switch to different languages for future challenges just for the fun of it. I'll be looking forward to these!

Looking forward to your solution :)

My Solution in plain old JS5 :)

function fizzbuzz(value) {
    if (value % 5 == 0 && value % 3 == 0) {
        console.log("FizzBuzz")
    } else if (value % 5 == 0) {
        console.log("Buzz")
    } else if (value % 3 == 0) {
        console.log("Fizz")
    } else {
        console.log(value)
    }
};

function TestNumbers() {
for (var i = 0; i < 101; i++) {
    console.log(fizzbuzz(i));
    }
};

TestNumbers();

Looks good to me ;)

Wow, Really wish I could code lol, I have tried a couple of times to learn but just not making considerable progress. I have found a niche in data analysis I am so passionate about though , I need some coding ability to succeed in this area like R,Python and SQL. Perhaps this would pave a way for me into "core coding" :). Would closely follow this and see what I can learn. Great initiative

I suggest you check out the solutions then and learn from it :) That is what this challenge is about, you can see how it can be done and learn to think that way, till you can do it yourself

Yeah I got my pen and notebook ready. Would try to understand the thought process of each solution.

I resteem your post.I am new on steemit.this is my first post.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@cryptomaker/first-introduceyourself-on-steemit
Please go and upvote my first post.

I suggest you don't hijack other posts and ask for upvotes.

Loading...
Loading...

My solution for python:

def fizzbuzz(n):
  multipleOf3 = n % 3
  multipleOf5 = n % 5
  
  if (multipleOf3 == 0 and multipleOf5 == 0):
    return "FizzBuzz"
  elif (multipleOf3 == 0):
    return "Fizz"
  elif (multipleOf5 == 0):
    return "Buzz"
  else:
    return n

for n in range(101):
  print(fizzbuzz(n))

One suggestion I would have is keep the return type of fizzbuzz consistent. So I would probably do a return str(n) to ensure it is always a string. And in python I would follow snake_case with my variables so multiple_of_3 would be the preferred format.

Your solution looks good and I think it it correct, well done :)

lol, snake case for python. I get it! =D
I kinda wonder about these traditions of code styles and methods. It would be cool to tell a story about the history of traditions like "hello world" and such.

Thank you for the feedback. I'm come from Java. Automatically coded in it's coding style. lols

Loading...
Loading...

I'm gone do it.

Nice! Post your solution here when you got it. https://repl.it is really good for sharing code.

My ruby solution to FizzBuzz: https://repl.it/KNug/2

I used the range iterator (0..100).each because it is really nice to read in my opinion.

Constants are important, but FIZZBUZZ depends on FIZZ and BUZZ so a dynamic constant is best there.

helper functions to test for the various cases are really helpful for testing at. And the final fizzbuzz function reads like natural language.

The code works for negative values just fine and all functions are pure, so it can be used without printing anything.

I've contemplating to make a career change and start coding, as my brother does ruby on rails and he could accelerate my progress.

Anyone has done this? Are you happy with your shift?

Coding is awesome, try it :)

@reggaemuffin I want to know how young to learn kede easily, please teach me and please give me easy tips for me to learn it. I am very interested in your current posting of friends.



saya pingin tau bagaimana cara yang muda untuk mempelajari kede itu dengan mudah, tolong ajarin saya dan tolong beri saya tips yang mudah untuk saya mempelajari nya.saya sangat tertarik dengan postingan anda saat ini teman.

Hi, a quick example in clojure

(map #(cond
        (zero? (rem % 15)) "FizzBuzz"
        (zero? (rem % 3)) "Fizz"
        (zero? (rem % 5)) "Buzz"
        :else %)
     (range 0 101))

Output:

("FizzBuzz" 1 2 "Fizz" 4 "Buzz" "Fizz" 7 8 "Fizz" "Buzz" 11 "Fizz" 13 14 "FizzBuzz" 16 17 "Fizz" 19 "Buzz" "Fizz" 22 23 "Fizz" "Buzz" 26 "Fizz" 28 29 "FizzBuzz" 31 32 "Fizz" 34 "Buzz" "Fizz" 37 38 "Fizz" "Buzz" 41 "Fizz" 43 44 "FizzBuzz" 46 47 "Fizz" 49 "Buzz" "Fizz" 52 53 "Fizz" "Buzz" 56 "Fizz" 58 59 "FizzBuzz" 61 62 "Fizz" 64 "Buzz" "Fizz" 67 68 "Fizz" "Buzz" 71 "Fizz" 73 74 "FizzBuzz" 76 77 "Fizz" 79 "Buzz" "Fizz" 82 83 "Fizz" "Buzz" 86 "Fizz" 88 89 "FizzBuzz" 91 92 "Fizz" 94 "Buzz" "Fizz" 97 98 "Fizz" "Buzz")

lisp! What a brilliant, old and unique language :) Hope to find free time and learn it well one day :P

:P true. You will, i'm sure about that

i like this. this i something i would do. not right now but soon. coding is fun and this would help me get better at it

Great post and very interesting. Provide a very useful knowledge. Thank you so much for sharing

Cool concept, don't know how to code like that but still seems pretty dope

You can always try it :) Or read the solutions others submit and see how they did it

Great post and very interesting

I wish I could understand those lines >.>

Thanks for the information .. i am happy to see this news .. help devoted me

Reading the comments gave me hope i can restart the basics of computer programming i learnt in undergraduates. I will follow the solutions and one day soon i will write my code.

If I could code I would be all over this :) looks like a cool idea good luck!

I like it! I am not good at coding but I love the challenge and one sweet day win one of your challenges :)

Next post Please. My mind is moving.

Can you give me feedback? Was it too hard or too easy? What would you like to see next?

Holy crp this is so cool, i hope you can start a steemit computer science school to teach software development and basic coding to people, so they can kno enough to make thir ow bots and add fatures and plugins for steemit, i am interested in creating steemit chrome extensions for example. Thank u for this nd im mentyioning u inmy latest post :) about ur commenton how steempower has alot of social value that does equate to dollar value

Thank you 😊

I'll see about making these challenges steem specific, that could be fun 😊

Interesting challenge. All I know is WordPress, but I'm open to studying the morbid stuff that you do here on Steemit like having a bot and stuff. I'm amazed with your skills. :-)

Loading...

Probably the shortest FizzBuzz code

for(i=0;i<1e2;)
console.log((++i%3?"":"Fizz")+(i%5?"":"Buzz")||i)

You can go even shorter ;) But I mean the idea is to have it nice and readable and thought through :P

Not the best looking code, however you could add some comments... :D

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @SteemitBOT that upvoted you. And this system allways Vote for your Content if you follow this @SteemitBOT.

Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @SteemitBOT

@SteemitBOT is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts and upvote To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.

Please Follow and UPVOTE

steemit Upvote

You did not upvote me, please don't spam :)