Here Is What Coffee Actually Does To Your Brain

in #coffee7 years ago (edited)

Over one hundred thousand metric tons of caffeine are consumed around the world every year, that's equivalent to the weight of 14 Eiffel Towers. Most of this caffeine is consumed in coffee and Tea, but it is also ingested in some sodas, chocolates and some kind of caffeine pills and even beverages involved Decaf. caffeine helps us feel alert, focused, happy and energetic even if we haven't had enough sleep but it also raises blood pressure and make us feel anxious and it’s the worlds most widely used drug so how does it keep us awake.

Whenever you’re awake, a chemical known as adenosine steadily accumulates in your brain. And this adenosine ties to receptors which retards brain activity, eventually, the more adenosine there is, the more stressed your brain feels. Which makes more sense, as the more you are awake, the more fatigued you changed. Om the other hand, while you sleep, the focus of adenosine declines, slowly promoting wakefulness.

But it is discovered that the caffeine in our coffee is incredibly equivalent to adenosine in structure. The caffeine in your bloodstream and into the brain, where it triggers to compete and ties with adenosine receptors. Yet because it is not adenosine, the ‘sleepiness’ effect is not noticed. Adenosine can no longer tied, meaning its calming properties are vanished. Which is nice for you when you are feeling tired!

Nevertheless, with continues use of caffeine for longer period, your brain responds by producing more adenosine receptors. Which means more caffeine is desired to obtain the same response. It also means that when you implement to cut down drinking coffee or missed your daily intake, you may feel some withdrawal symptoms and experience more stressed than you would have before you ever consumed coffee.
f.gif

So can you consume too much coffee in a day? It is discovered there is a fatal dose of caffeine which is almost around 150mg of caffeine per kilogram of your body. This means if you weigh 60kg you would require 12,000mg of caffeine to make it fatal. Put into perspective, an typical cup of coffee consists of almost 150mg of caffeine, meaning if you are 60kg, approximately 60 cups of coffee would kill you. Nevertheless, you had have to drink those cups all at once becoming it really impossible to overdose on caffeine from coffee, because of you wouldn’t be able to physically fill so much in your stomach. You’d also start feeling mania and hallucinations before reaching to this stage.


Caffeine also consists of halflife of around 6 hours. So if you drink a typical coffee with around 150mg of caffeine, after this about 6 hours, there will only be 75mg left in your body and you will be experiencing half of the consequence. And after 6 hours, you will have 37.5mg, with more adenosine to jump back into action. This may be a reason you may reach for another cup throughout the day, which is really not a good habit to adapt, to feel that glorious, alert and energetic experience.

Source: Business Insider, LifeHacker
Image Source:1,2 || Follow Me @dommaraju

Sig.gif

Sort:  

Source:

Not indicating that the content you copy/paste (including images) is not your original work could be seen as plagiarism.

Some tips to share content and add value:

  • Using a few sentences from your source in “quotes.” Use HTML tags or Markdown.
  • Linking to your source
  • Include your own original thoughts and ideas on what you have shared.

Repeated plagiarized posts are considered spam. Spam is discouraged by the community and may result in action from the cheetah bot.

Thank You! ⚜

If you are the author, please reply and let us know!

Thanks moderator, I have taken the maximum amount of content from the Business Insider where this video is discovered by me. Hence I thought to mention that as a main source. If I am supposed to put the original source, I will do that without fail from now. And I understood the system and follow that.

Thanks.

dude i need more coffee :) i guess im slowly becoming a zombie PNW-zombie-coffee-guy.jpg
source: http://jeremyvarner.com/

I can identify with that PNW coffee zombie..haha nice!

Wow, good to know. Inprobaboy consume about 700 mg of caffeine a day, I may have to pull back 😂☕️

Very interesting friend.

Need to fix the next hit 😰😵

hey thanx for this post i need only coffee
if i have to do a job what i dont like
that coffee helps me to push through !
STeemOn

Thanks for sharing, I like the post

Welcome the worlds best community !!!!

From now on you are on the green path to implement your kindness to everyone, hope you include the lucky people here.

Do not hesitate to share interesting and useful things. Good luck!!!

Greetings from me ** @vipsteem **

Good post! I just bought green tea so I can ween myself off of the coffee this week. Been wanting to and glad I did. If fact after reading this I am starting now.

You shall not stop me from consuming it by the gallon on a daily basis.

I must consume coffee moderately now, i would not like to become a zombie :-)

It's Coffee Time!

iF coffee is good then I am fine.

I started drinking coffee from an early age probably nine years old. I am now 35, still drinking my regular cup of tea. One thing I noticed it does not keep me awake, I drink and go straight to sleep.

ok! , as long it's reltaed to withdrawal symptoms then it's about addiction too! :)

We love coffee!

Very well written! Wrote a similar post myself and came to similar conclusions

to drink or not to drink..

You should not drink coffee while it cold.. coz it make your stomach filled with air until you vommit or fart continuesly.. hahaha that happen to me last time..

These are some pretty good facts you have here @dommaraju. I am glad I am part of your blog. You always provide us wisdom and information with good quality. A big thumbs up for your work

60 cups a day...thats a lot!

Cool info. I always start my day with an espresso. Is there any dose which could influence good our body if we use it in long term?

Don't drink the stuff. Don't like the taste - love the aroma. Would set a pot of water on the wood stove, throw in some beans and set the house on 'comfort zone.' Kidneys can't take the caffeine (in anything.)

As a narcoleptic I definitely take in more than my share. But I'd rather have too much coffee than develop a dependency on prescription methamphetamine or Modafinil, so caffeine it is for now.

I was kinda scared to read this post considering i literally just sat down with a cup of coffee...after reading, i really want a tshirt of the girl who can smell colors

Since I quite drinking coffee about 5 years ago I feel 10 x better.

I friggin love coffee. I also noticed that I have been drinking more and more as time goes on. One cup used to be enough but now I drink as many as 6 or more small cups in a single day!

Hola Buen post, de igual forma me gusta mucho el café dígame un mocachino es divino, saludos

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $31.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.