Adding Salt to your coffee?

in #coffee7 years ago

Adding Salt to your coffee?

enter image description here
Image Source

Yes you have indeed read that correctly! To me it sounds like utter madness but apparently it is a thing!

Why do people add salt to coffee?

The thinking behind salting coffee is that salt acts as a bitterness reducer, somehow either blocking or tricking our brain and tongue into receiving all of that bitter taste.

People say that when you add salt to your coffee it tastes better, it takes the bitterness away. A study in Nature showed that sodium ions suppress bitterness and enhance flavor and what better sodium source is there than salt!

Well I am not rely a coffee drinker but my dad says it is indeed true that salt makes the coffee less bitter and brings out the flavor in the coffee.

How much salt to add to a cup of coffee?

The experts say the perfect amount of salt to add to a cup of coffee is a pinch of salt

This hole concept is very interesting and even weird to me, when I think of coffee I think of sugar and milk, definitely not of salt and milk!

My questions to you:

  1. What do you think about adding salt to your coffee?
  2. Have you ever tried adding salt to your coffee?
  3. If you had, what did it taste like?

Sources used for this article:



Thank you for reading!

Please tell me what you think about this post. I will appreciate your feedback!

If you liked reading this post and would like to read more - please follow me @flowergirl



Sort:  

I love my coffee with bit of honey but I never try with salt. Hmm maybe its time to try.

Let me know what you think about it once you have tried it :)

This was quite popular in the northern part of Sweden, but I have not tried it myself.

You should tell me what you think about it when you try it one day.

Lol.... I just now did that before arriving at your post on Steemit! It really does remove the bitterness!

Thank you for the feedback :)

I love salt on my food but in my coffee?

You should give it a try :)

I couldn't believe this, so I had to try it and it really tastes better!

Thanks a lot for sharing!

I will follow you and I am looking forward for more crazy stories.😁😁

It is my pleasure :)

I've once inappropriately seasoned my coffee with a whole teaspoon of salt, which I happen store in an unlabeled Tupperware container next to my granulated sugar. A mouthful of salty coffee was not a pleasant start to my morning.

In small amounts, it can do wonders if you're not big on the taste of bitterness in your coffee. I first heard about the idea from one of my favorite chefs, Alton Brown. He has written a bit about it in his blog.

Congratulations @iamciaran! I'm here to let you know that you have won a FREE TICKET. Thank you for RESTEEMING our promotion. CLICK HERE to find out more about your free ticket! :]

Thank you very much for the interesting a relevant reply!

I rather have my coffee just as it comes, with a bit of milk, no sugar, no salt thank you!!

HAHA!

I'll try it tomorrow morning, thanks for the tip, I'm super curious!

Tell me what you think when you did try it :)

Have you ever put mint in your coffee?, try it is very fresh.

Will try it, thank you for the tip :)