A Day in The Life: Headaches

in #college6 years ago

My head hurts

I always used to get headaches in high school, often due to a sinus problem I have, but also because I didn't drink nearly enough water. I have a family history of migraines but I've never experienced anything like what I've seen my dad go through on one of his days. Today my little headaches started to come back and wouldn't go away no matter how much water I drank. More than likely the problem is a combination of the weird weather we've been having (tomorrow's high is in the 70s) and the stress of my classes (I did very little work yesterday thinking I didn't have much due this week only to remember everything I have due this week).

So, as a sort of de-stressor, I took a very, very out of the way long walk home today through campus. I finally stopped to photograph a few scenes I've been meaning to get for a while now and just really enjoyed the warm weather.

The Path

IMG_2958.jpg

I'm sure there's an actual name for this path. Its between OSU's main library, Thompson Library (probably more on this in a future post) and what is now the historical restoration of the mirror lake district project (definitely more on this in a future post). I liked how the curving path led up to the castle looking structure obscured by the trees in the distance. That castle looking building houses the bell that chimes every quarter of an hour, as well as what everyone calls the "Harry Potter Library" (no, it's not a library full of HP books, lore, and artifacts, it's just a library that is really old and looks like J.K. Rowling herself may have designed it).

Jesse Owens South

IMG_2962.JPG

This is a shot of the sun setting next to Jesse Owens South, one of the one million recreation centers we have here (this is an exaggeration, there's only like 13). While it may look like a bomb shelter, I'm pretty sure it also functions as a tornado shelter. Just to be clear, as I realize It may not be evident but I'm not willing to retype what I already wrote, the building in question here is the big arching one, not the parking garage or the dorm on the right. Now that I look at this picture, I realize the light from the sun really screwed me here. It looked much better before I put it into this post. Oh well, it's too late now.

The walk Home

IMG_2965.jpg

I love this angle because it features a piece of my four story dorm compared to the giants that are Smith, Steeb, Park, and Stradley (Smith and Steeb are joined to form Smith-Steeb and Park and Stradley are joined to form Park-Stradley, this will be useful to know later). I like how the giant wings of the buildings form the vertical stairway formation if that makes sense. Maybe I'm the only one that sees that. Anyway, on to the next part.

Back Home

IMG_2973.jpg

Did you think this was my home? Sorry if I led you to believe this, but actually this is a close-up of Smith-Steeb taken from the back door of my building. The central part, as far as I know, was added when the building was renovated a few years ago, joining Smith Hall and Steeb Hall. I think its a beautiful modern looking wall with all that cement and glass, and would love to live there, but it is quite more expensive than my current housing. I do have a friend who lives in Smith-Steeb who lets me come over and play pool and cook deserts in their kitchen (their recreation area is much nicer than mine, and my building does not have a kitchen for whatever reason).

So that pretty much concludes The day. My headache has subsided for now but I'm sure it will make another appearance tomorrow. In the meantime, I encourage you all to drink some water and take the time to appreciate your surroundings. Make every day a day worth writing about.