A Day in the Life: Stress

in #college6 years ago

When people talk about college student stress, they aren't lying

victoria-palacios-355597-unsplash.jpg

this isn't me nor did I take this but it accurately describes how I feel

So I had my sociology exam today, and it was ok, but that's not the point of my stressful title. The dude that usually sits next to me in class hasn't been in class for a few days and today he said he'd been having meetings with his hall director. Jokingly I asked if he had gotten in trouble because we all know underage drinking happens in college dorms and hardly anyone takes it seriously. No, he replied, he had been meeting with his hall director because his previous roommate had decided he wanted to take his own life. At this I was speechless. What do you say when you were making a joke about someone getting in trouble for something stupid and they hit you with my roommate wanted to kill himself (Refer back to the image above for a representation of how I felt at this moment).

A note: I do not take suicide lightly and this story is not told jokingly, but more as a representation and message of awareness about the stress we are put under. Also, I have no idea if this man actually attempted or succeeded in his act, but I was informed that my acquaintance helped his roommate through this and alerted the proper channels before moving to a different dorm.

Onto A Lighter Subject: Fortnite

If anyone out there reading this has any adolescent to young adult boys on Snapchat, I'm sure you've seen countless pictures of Fortnite wins. If not, lucky you.
Today, I almost had my first solo win, and I decided to leave my peers in the past with their Fortnite-based snapchat stories and make my victory into a Steemit post. However, I only got 2nd (I take my small victories as they come) and I completely forgot to take a picture of the screen when I died so you'll have to accept this image of the game loading as my word:

IMG_2984 (2).jpg

So yeah, that was pretty much the day. I also had two sandwiches which were good. Worked out a little, did chemistry homework for a few hours, the usual.

PS: Firstly excuse my probably misuse of PS I've never been sure of how to use that properly. Secondly I know I talked a bunch about stress and then went on to how I was playing video games. "How are you playing video games if you're so stressed about the work that you aren't even doing?" you're probably asking yourself now that I pointed it out. Well, that's just one of the many paradoxes of my generation. Games are my stress relief, as unhealthy as that may prove to be in the future, I got a lot of work done today, so I think I deserved it. Thank you, and goodnight.