The college scam..

in #college6 years ago (edited)

2994CC1B-B914-4AFC-BCCF-90ADC474D524.jpegCollege is the biggest scam..

Hello folks, once again it’s me Jon with another post. Since I was little, my classrooms always brainwashed me to think college was the best, and basically the only option we have after graduating high school. I was always told that if I didn’t go to college I’d be a failure and work extra harder to get by in life. I’m told to make my parents proud if I get a college degree or some sort of “schooling” for a career. Well I did, and now it’s one of the biggest regrets of my life. See the curriculum we’re taught in school hasn’t been updated in probably centuries. I saw a video the other day talking about this. That the whole time we’re in school we’re being taught to be obedient. If we’re obedient enough, we get good grades that we can bring home and make our parents proud. If not we come home with bad grades and disappoint our parents. Here in the states we go through that at the age of 4 until 18. Then, if we want to “succeed” more in life.. We have to go to college. My high school teachers always told me college was basically the only way. Otherwise I’d be working at a McDonald’s or become a janitor or a garbage man. If I do go, I’d become something greater than that. That I’ll be living in a nice home, with a nice family and a nice car. It’s funny that the teachers who say that don’t even have all that, and most of the time are probably miserable. They tell me all these nice things but kind of brush away all the cons of going. And trust me there’s a lot of them. They never told me that the money I’ll owe will never go away unless I’m a vegetable or I’m dead. They never told me that if I can’t afford to pay them, they’ll just take my tax returns or garnish wages with interest. They NEVER told me that having the career I studied for is not guaranteed at all. The job market is really funny these days. NO ONE will hire you unless you have 2-3+ years of experience. I learned that when I tried to get out of the service industry. I tried to get an office job but I hardly got an interview or even a response. There’s people out there with a degree still working for restaurants or retail. Or something they did not study for. Not because they gave up, it’s because when they looked, employers looked at graduates like roaches. When I was told about the “real world” in school. I wish they actually told me how cutthroat it is. Even if you do decide to go to college.

However don’t take this as an advice. This is my opinion that comes from experience.

Until next time..

Jon

Sort:  

#thanks a lot for this important post
#thanks @melip
#upvote and #resteem done

Thanks a lot for your valuable speech
Thanks @melip
#upvote and #resteem done

Thank you very much for this post @melip
#upvote &#resteem done

Its an informative post
Thank you for resteem this post @melip
#upvote &resteem done

It is very informative post ....
It helpful for everyone
Thanks a lot for resteem the post
Thanks @melip
#upvote and #resteem done

Student loans are one of the US government’s biggest assets.
No wonder they created funny carriers with funny names and absolutely NO FUTURE just to get students to take the bait, get the loan, increase the asset value for the government and screw the graduated student with crazy payments.
GOOGLE IS THE BEST SCHOOL NOWADAYS,
GOOGLE EVERYTHING!

100% agreed. you just said my words.

thanks for sharing

I absolutely agree. Many people have told me that any kind of extra "schooling" is unnecessary and every employer wants 2-3+ years of experience which for me sounds ridiculous. Let's say I've just graduated how am I supposed to find a job when they want from me to have experience...?
Here in Bulgaria many graduates are not only working in McDonalds etc. but a lot of them don't have a job at all.
I think it's good that I've realised it before I went to college/university.

PS: What's the thing with @melip ? :)

Why does have to be a thing? I just liked the post 😊

:D I'm just asking because everyone have tagged you under this post.

Everyone should have their own opinion, and yours is as valid as any other.

I agree with many views here, and I think college is overrated, but there are some good things about it.

Cheers