Making campus friends before even the first day as a new freshman

in #college7 years ago


The new freshman


When going to college as a new freshman it can be very nerve wrecking, after all, you are going to an entirely new place with absolutely no friends. Or at least most of us are. One thing you could start doing before school starts is to get connected with the other incoming students. With so many social media platforms readily available, many colleges are taking advantage of these sites to create student outreach pages for incoming freshmen, which is a phenomenal way to start making new friends and connections. When I found out about my college’s page for incoming freshmen, as someone who is typically shy and likes to hang back unnoticed in the shadows, I was both thrilled and intimidated. The important thing to remember is that all these other students are just as nervous as you are, so this is a great time to step out of your comfort zone and reinvent yourself.

Instead of letting my shy side dominate, I decided to step out on a limb and reach out to some students who shared similar interests. Before I knew it, I already had a few campus friends, and I hadn’t even started school yet!


Please upvote
And follow me @mariey

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www.collegexpress.com/articles-and-advice/student-life/blog/pre-college-prep-how-get-ready-your-first-semester/