Color Challenge, Thursday - Green: Magnificent Cable Ride

20170330_111511.jpg

With my first experience riding a cable car I was out of myself with excitement and anticipation (not to mention fear) while we bought our tickets to go up Harties Cableway in these beautiful green cars, blowing off that I was scared of heights to impress the others around me.

20170330_092156.jpg

While watching the empty car approaching me, my bravado grew dimmer and my heart started pounding in my throat. Taking that first step into the car and it started swaying I thought, "Oh no, till here and no further, I love my little life tooooooo much." I kept a brave face and entered the car very cautiously.

20170330_090742.jpg

As we launched off the platform with a thump, I started to giggle. Everyone thought it was due to excitement, little did they know that when I am extremely nervous, I laugh. I strategically manoeuvred to sit face towards the approaching mountain so I can focus on looking up and not down.

20170330_090818.jpg

When looking up to see where the cable led, I experienced the same sick feeling in my stomach as I had at the amusement park with some of the really scary rides. It was going way too high for my liking. The feeling worsened as we started to ascend and I realized, this is it, there was no turning back.

20170330_111518.jpg

Everyone was going crazy about the view of the dam behind me and suggested that I must turn around to take a look. To my relief, the car started swinging as my friend tried to turn around and all shouted at him to rather sit still. Those famous words, "Saved by the bell" rang in my head.

20170330_111548.jpg

I quite happily pointed out to them how spectacular our view was to the left and right. Looking at the green trees calmed my nerves quite a bit and I could not believe how quickly we arrived at our destination. The 360-degree view of our surrounding areas was absolutely breath taking and mesmerising. It reminded me of this poem I stumbled upon on the internet a few months ago.

GREEN IS THE COLOR OF NATURE WHICH IS VERY LOVELY.

NATURE IS BEAUTIFUL
FILLED WITH GREEN;
THE LOVELINESS ARISES
WITHOUT ANY DEMAND
THEY CAN GROW ANYWHERE.
THE SIMPLICITY OF NATURE
BEING VERY MAGICAL,
MAKES THE HEART GENTLE.
THE VOYAGE OF DISCOVERY,
OPENS THE HEART
TO SEE THE WONDERS-
OF OUR NATURE.
THE WONDERFUL LEAVES
FLUTTERS LIKE A BUTTERFLY
AROUND THE GARDEN,
WITH A LIGHT BREEZE.
LET US SING OURSELVES
AND PLANT MORE TREES
TO MAKE THE EARTH-
MORE BEAUTIFUL THAN EVER,
WITH ALL OUR HEART.

Source: http://forums.familyfriendpoems.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=88155

20170330_111400.jpg

I was quite sad at the end of the day, bidding the beauty which surrounded us farewell. I decided to put my "BIG Girl" panties on and hopped in before all the others, facing the dam. What a wonderful experience it was, my fear of heights totally forgotten. Definitely, an experience I will advise all to go try out.

20170330_092322.jpg

Some Idioms:

Green with envy or green-eyed monster (very envious), to give the green light (to give the go ahead or approval to proceed), to have green fingers (to be good with plants), the grass is always greener on the other side ( a place or situation that is far away or different seems better than one’s present situation).

Source: https://voxy.com/blog/2013/11/five-color-idioms-part-3-green/

More information on Hartbeespoort cableway:
http://www.hartiescableway.co.za/

Sort:  

I have a fear of heights...

You hit the green, well done

@cherryblossom-sa What a breath taking view! I love the lustre of the green vegetation, It adds life to the pictures.

Wow awesome pictures dear i am loving them.

awesome pictures
by the looks of the pictures the place looks amazing
thanks for sharing and keep up the hard work

Yeah. I know the experience. Little bit feary but when it comes to adventure we all can use some fear. Although I believe car cable holds the title of most fearful experience giver. But I always love my ride in it very much .

Cool :) I want see it ...and I want go and photography this :)

Beautiful views, we would like to spend a holiday. Waiting for more pictures :)
How much does a single pass cost?

I like lots of shades of gray! Congrats!

Green is life!
Green is health!
When alive,
Next comes wealth!

Lovely pictures, cherryblossom........You definitely had fun!

Sadly though, there aren't plenty of these luxuries is West Africa!

Awesome views thanksfor toughing it out and sharing them with us.

if i was in your place to enjoy this moment it was be great. I like nature very much is special feeling. i really know that your heart was happy till you see a beautiful nature

Awesome sights ! cableway looks dangerous too.

So beautiful! The scenery is breathtaking! Im always freaking out as well when Im in these! Where is this located? @cherryblossom-sa Thanks for sharing:):)

Wonderful !! Upvote and I follow you! I love landscapes and nature. I have a post about the beautiful natural landscapes in my country. I invite you to know, esperote like and support me with your vote :)

Wow! I would try it! But I would be freaked out! But sounds like an awesome part of the experience of life!

upvoted and follow .......... if you like check my trips stories like this one from Belgium https://steemit.com/travel/@bllackwidow/mytrip-belgium-awesome-part-2

Self promotion could make your reputation a whale snack!

Steemit PSA: Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment!