Five Days of Spidey Frames - Day 2

in #comics3 years ago

9AB804B4-8DF7-4FAE-B4B7-5CD67DE5E49F.jpeg

Yesterday I popped up the first of five pieces that showcase some fairly badass original Spider-Man comic book art. You can check that out here if ya wish as it has a bit more background on the hobby itself.

https://hive.blog/hive-173630/@blewitt/five-days-of-spidey-frames-day-1

If you are reading this currently...I’ll assume you already breezed through part 1....so I’ll just jump right into discussing this particular piece!

A few months back on one of the comic art groups I’m in, a gentleman posted this page for sale and I immediately hopped on it. The page cost me 750 beans and I couldn’t be happier. I love the composition of this particular page...particularly the first two panels with Spidey crawling in the ceiling and of course that second panel of a tremendously overbearing Kingpin. The sheer size of him shows just how menacing and larger than life he is in contrast to Spidey who stands vulnerable before him. I LOOOOOVE that particular panel. Pages like this are a reason I love comics in the first place.

E858F6DB-77D6-4C20-B68A-8A50BAE9968D.jpeg

This page is from Amazing Spider-Man #25 (2015) and features pencils by the legend Stuart Immonen. Rumor is he’s taking a break which was just another factor in me pulling the trigger immediately. Inks are done by Wade von Grawbadger. Below is the page as is appears in the published comic with colors by Marte Gracia.

8D25C6A5-6509-4F72-BC18-A2346466C553.jpeg

I wanted something elegant looking forward the framing and this goldish/brownish/bronzish finish did the trick. The frame curves inward and has a very classy feel...like something that would be hanging in the Kingpin’s office. Mission accomplished.

Funny thing about this specific piece. I posted a pic of it all framed up in the comic art group and a fella left a comment that he was the owner of the page...2 owners ago. Said he regretted selling a couple years back. Kinda makes me feel good. 😂

Stay tuned for tomorrow’s art!!! Thanks for taking a peek.

Blewitt

Sort:  

I think I remember you posting about this page before. The artists come up with some cool concepts. Comic art can be a lot deeper than some people imagine.