SUPPORT NEEDED STEEMIT COMMUNITY! ❀️ - HELP FOR MY SICK GRANDFATHER IN CAMBODIA πŸ™πŸ½- PLEASE HELP AND SHARE

in #community β€’ 6 years ago (edited)

opa en ik.jpg

This picture was taken in 2015, when I visited my grandfather. I told him to smile with his teeth and so he did! We were so happy at that moment!!

Dear all,

The first thing I want to ask you is to read this post attentively. This post is about my grandfather (the father of my father) who is really sick and in a lot of pain. The hardest part for me is that I can't be there for him right now. So, I'm trying to do all I can to help and support him in any way. I will do my best to try and explain to you the situation.

Unfortunately we cannot always have happy times and right now, I'm not in a happy moment. I have an amazing, strong grandfather who is 97 years old. He lives in the province TakΓ©o in Cambodia. As I am born and raised in the Netherlands, I have only met my grandfather four times in my life. The last time was in 2015 when I visited him for only four days. Even though I haven't seen him often in my life, I feel a deep connection with my grandfather. His wife, my grandmother, died in 2005.. so he has been alone since. My dearest family who live in Cambodia are taking care of him. I know it hasn't been easy for them, but I really thank them from the bottom of my heart for taking such good care of both of my grandparents.

Since I was little, I was conscious about the fact that I didn't have grandparents living nearby my home. When classmates told me they were going to spend their weekends or holidays with their grandparents, I envied them. I wish I could have spend more time with my grandparents.. Now that my grandfather is the only grandparent left, this is the least thing I can do for him.

Superman

That's what he is: SUPERMAN! The first time I met my grandfather was in 1995. I was 5 years old. It I can still remember how he took care of me during my stay. My grandfather lives in the country side. Together with other family members he build his home. He also has his own land with the family where he used to have a small lake. I can remember people telling me that he build the lake on his own with his twin brother and my uncles. I also saw him carrying a tree trunk on his shoulder to build a small stage where we could stand on it in the lake. Even though I can't communicate in Khmer (Cambodian language) very well, I could always understand what he was telling me. He isn't a man of many words, just like my dad. My dad is a copy of my grandfather. They both are very quiet, even when family are discussing about something.. they show their love by taking action and speaking less words. That's what I really love about them.

Now that my grandfather is old, it's difficult to communicate with him. In 2015 I visited him for only four days as I had to go to Thailand. I told him I love him and I've missed him so much (which is rare in our culture to tell your feelings) and he didn't know how to respond to it. He only laughed just like the picture above.

I haven't seen him for two years now. Luckily, technology gives us the opportunity to see each other through video chat on Facebook. On New Year's day, I called him to wish him a happy new year and he gave us his blessings. Here is a screenshot of my grandfather, my cousin (who also lives in the Netherlands), my sister and I. He was happy to see us as he laughed after this screenshot. As you can probably see, the shape of his left ear isn't how it's supposed to be.

26540418_1771260723170471_1348344276_o.jpg

He has a disease and it's still unknown what is going on with him. What I think is that his ear is suffering from carnivorous bacteria (I really don't know if these are the right words in English). Yesterday, he went to the hospital in Takeo Province. Doctors told my family that he has cancer and due to his age, there is nothing they can do about it except giving painkillers. I can understand that it can be critical for him to undergo an operation, but still.. it's ridiculous that they say they can't do anything else about it. Now his ear got even worse. I don't want to share a picture of it as it is very hurtful and gross to see, but I'm doing it anyway so you can see that this is serious. 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

aa.jpg

I've done some research on the internet and the symptoms of carnivorous bacteria is the same as grandfather has. Due to his pain, his organs can stop functioning. This is what I'm afraid of.. That it will only get worse (it's already worse)

He definitely needs better medical care. I don't trust the hospital in his province or even in Cambodia itself (it's always about money (corrupt country) and their knowledge is not at the same level as doctors in the Netherlands). But to be honest, I don't care about the money. All I want is for my grandfather to live well and healthy, with no pain.

Our family's plan now is to gather money and to make sure that my grandfather can get the medical care he deserves. I don't even know exactly what amount is needed. Even if we have to take him to the hospital in Thailand or Vietnam (I don't know how far they can help but from what I've heard is that in Thailand & Vietnam the care is much better than Cambodia).

I'm really not a person who asks something from others, especially when it comes to money. I don't want to be desperate, but at this moment I do feel desperate and powerless. He really needs help ASAP. Since we are in the Steemit Community and Steemit offers many opportunities for all of us, I'm like: Okay.. let's give it a shot and see how far we can come to help my lovely grandfather!!

It is up to you whether you want to upvote & reshare this post or not in order to support my grandfather and family. If you do upvote and reshare, I will pray for you, give you blessings and send good karma :-)! I am eternally grateful!!!

If you have any tips for me concerning the fundraise and/or my grandfather, please leave a comment!! Any help is welcome now! And if you like to know more, ask me by leaving a comment!



20151220_055713.JPG

The last picture I took with him when I had to leave Cambodia. My words:"Grandfather, will you please wait for me until I come back to visit for you?" He answered:"Yes, I will wait for you."

πŸ™πŸ½ My only grandfather left. I love you beyond the moon and back and wish you to get better real soon! πŸ™πŸ½

p.s. I have so much to share about my feelings concerning my grandfather, but it's not about that now. It's about him. I hope I can be there for him, take him to the hospital and take care of him. I will definitely keep you up to date about his health!

Much love for you all!!!

Kimberley

Sort: Β 

Will upvote and resteem for you dear... hope you he will have the care and medical treatment πŸ™πŸΌπŸ˜˜

thank you sis <3

UPVOTED & RESTEEMED!
I really hope your grandfather will soon receive the proper medical treatment he deserves! πŸ™

Thanks @dominggus! <3

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

You have my attention, and I am intrigued, and empathise with you. How about you help me by finding out more details of the costs involved. Does your Grandfather have a passport? Have you spoken to immigration in the Netherlands in relation to finding out if you can bring him over for treatment? If you can get more information, it might be easier to find options

Thank you @Oscarblue04 !! My sister is contacting my cousin in Cambodia to ask about the costs @ the hospital in Phnom Penh. I don't know whether he has a passport or not, I should ask that. I haven't spoken to immigration in the Netherlands but that would be a good thing to do, however, I don't know whether the family wants to bring him over for treatment in the Netherlands because he hasn't been on a flight before and he is 97 years old. I will keep you updated! Thank you <3

Hello any updates? I need this so I can find a way to help you.

Hey @oscarblue04, we won't bring him over to the Netherlands. He can be helped in a bigger hospital located in the capital of Cambodia (Phnom Penh). My family is now in contact with a doctor who is specialized in ears. They're going to discuss whether it is possible to amputate his ear. His ear is getting doughy/distended? And it feels like no one in the family is taking immediate action and I'm here trying to figure out how I'm going to help my grandfather so I'm kinda pissed off right now at my family.

May I ask what you can do to help me?

another thing is that if your family was on Steem they could have also upvoted you.

true that. I told them already about it but they are not into blogposting. Too bad they dont listen

The way I want to help is to try to help pay for your grandfather's treatment. If I can get to see some of the bills, I can actually make arragements to send some funds to the doctor for the treatment, or help pay for some medication etc.

This post has received a 1.72 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @bley47

nice post, I like to kind people who want to share and thank

thanks

Thank you bley47 for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.20% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?