You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Friday ! I Have Donuts

in #community2 years ago

I used to love the little ones but they aren't like they used to be at all. They used to taste fresh and yummy. A real treat. To be honest, my favorite, growing up and even now are Dunkin Donuts. I know, Krispy Kreme is king down south and west... and I won't lie to you, I couldn't find a Dunkin in some of the places I lived out west. Krispy Kreme was everywhere in San Antonio and in New Mexico and and and... and one day! I found a Dunkin on Nacogdoches Rd!!!! Yippee!

Anyway, I hope you didn't have to work too long today. It was nice here and the outside called my name, it was that nice! Now, my day is trying to wind down and I am thinking: Simple supper.

Maybe donuts?

Sort:  

I have to agree that I don't think they are as good as they use to be. I know brand makes a big difference. Although I can't remember the brand now, I bought some once that were so yucky, after two bites I threw them away ! These weren't as good as old times, but they weren't terrible either. I guess that's a good thing they weren't amazing, so I won't want them again any time soon. LOL !!!

If I go to a real donut shop, I have nearly never bought a cake donut and if I did, I was just trying something I was not familiar with and it was probably not the only one I bought, just in case it was terrible. In a real donut shop, I want something fried ! I once had a traditional style donut with maple glaze and bits of bacon on the top. It must have been made that day, because each bite just melted in my mouth... OMGoodness ! I like vanilla creme filled too, but I'll take a warm regular glazed one anytime..... but only the day I buy it. I do not like leftover donuts the next day.

The few things I've had from dunkin, I wasn't impressed with, well, let me back up, Someone brought some to work one time and there was a french crueller that was absolutely devine ! I couldn't wait till the next time I was on the other side of Burlington, to go through the Duncan drive through and get another, which I did, only to find it wasn't even close to the original taste and freshness as the first. It actually tasted bad, like it was cooked in old grease. I was highly disappointed at the inconsistency and have never gone back for another.

Krispy Kreme is ok, but we have a different donut shop here that makes donuts as good as they use to be when I was a child, so the chains don't really get my business unless I am with someone else that wants to go to one of them. The local shops are far superior in product.

I worked till 1. It was forced OT. I never work on Saturday voluntarily anymore.

It has been a little cool here today. I thought I was going outside to weedeat a little, but it was only about 50 degrees and breezy, so I didn't do it.

Good Grief! It was 62 today and I thought WE were cold. Tomorrow will be chilly (58) so this yoyo cold/hot game is getting old with me.

The donuts my mom got were Merita Sweet Sixteen - Then Hostess bought them out and they have been doggie poo since.

Dunkin is a hit or miss. As they baked their own, one shop from the other was good or not.

Well, 2am... off to bed. :) Good night!

LOL@doggie poo

Nighty night

Good night. My book was tooo good!